Viva Estonia! in Magical Realism

Revised: 02/03/2015 8:04 a.m.

  • Feb. 2, 2015, 11 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

My last morning in Paris, I had a million things I meant to do for work, but barely managed to get up, shower, pack, and get myself to the airport. Short flight from CDG to Tallinn, Estonia where I landed and took a cab to meet up with long-time fave on OD and PB Echoes to the evolution and her friend L. We checked in and met up in the common room of our hostel. It was immediately like we’d known each other for a zillion years. So fab. We took a nice long walk around town, got tickets for the Royal Ballet Gala and hit the Christmas markets. We were hungry so we grabbed some yummy snacks and exotic beers (honey and cinnamon!) at medieval themed restaurant Old Hansa:

alt text

After Dinner #1 we went to the Ballet, which was great. I have a really hard time sitting still in the dark without falling asleep, and the dances kept my attention for probably all but 5 minutes, which is a very high rating from me. After the Ballet we grabbed our coats and went to Three Dragons, basically a medieval cave that sold soup. We had soup and these pastry things, but since it was bring your own spoon, we drank from the bowl. After Dinner #2 we headed to the beergarden below our hostel, had a couple more beers, and went to bed around 1am.

The next morning we went on a city tour of Tallinn, which terrific but a bit rushed as we were heading to meet some of my winterswimming friends for a dip. Here are [Echoes] and L in front of a historic Tallinn building. Please note the old-timey aviator helmet and goggles on top of Miss [Echoes] head:

alt text

After the tour my friend Henri came to pick us up and bring us to a marina where the Tallinn winterswimmers swim. We had a nice dip, I did a lap of the marina and then we hung out in the sauna with Henri and my friends Aivar and Irena. I met them all in Argentina and it was so good to see them again. Henri is a world record holder for swimming the longest distance at zero degrees, and the open-water swimming man of the year for 2014, but also the nicest and most humble guy in the world. Henri and Irena just playing around in the cold water here, like it’s nothing. Tough Estonians!

alt text

After the swim we drove back to the hostel, got ready, and had some coffee with vodka and chocolate schnapps to warm up! We went out for a drink at Labor Baar where all the drinks came in trays of test tube shots. Like this!

alt text

After that we went out to dinner and then to a nearby bar which was nowhere as fun as the test-tube, but we happened to share a table with a young Russian guy from Moscow, Viktor, who we immediately bonded with. We ended up going back to Labor Baar for more test tube drinks, because…happy hour until 4am. Yep.

alt text

alt text

We took full advantage of the happy hour, went a bit crazy talking to people all around the bar, until around 4:30 another Russian guy asked to buy [Echoes]’ helmet. He offered us 50 euro, and she was like, “No way.” We said, “500 maybe” and he thought about it for a while and walked away. Then his friend told me he was going to the ATM to take out the euros…hahhahahaha. He came back, gave me the money, I counted it, and [Echoes] turned over the helmet. It was a sadness (no more beloved helmet) and a triumph (500 euro!):

alt text

The next day we woke up late (considering we hadn’t gone to bed until 7:30am) walked around town, finally grabbed a long awaited meal at Grandma’s for lunch:

alt text

Lunch was everything we hoped it would be, but by mid-evening we were completely zonked and craving atrocious food so we had dinner at a surprisingly nice McDonald’s while watching the snow come down. Overall a wacky and wonderful celebration of the Winter Solstice, and the longest night of the year.


Last updated February 03, 2015


nightborn February 03, 2015

Ooh you guys went to Grandma's! I loved that place, such delicious, food coma inducing comfort food.

sarahbaby. February 03, 2015

Hahahahaaa the helmet story is the weirdest!!

You look so super beautiful.

Caty Shark February 03, 2015

Now I must go to Estonia.

Bring your own spoon! Fabulous!

kashka February 03, 2015

I had to stop reading just to comment immediately . . . bring your own spoon? BRING YOUR OWN SPOON?!?!? That is amazing and hilarious.

pandora February 03, 2015

Uh yeah, 500 euros!! OMG amazing.
Whose hipster glasses are you wearing?

Satine pandora ⋅ February 03, 2015

Hahhahahahaha some Italian guy's...we hung out with a table of them for a bit, mostly to steal the glasses. :) Nicely spotted!

LotusButterfly February 03, 2015

That does sound like a real wonderful celebration, wow!!! I love the pics- I can't believe the guy actually gave u that for the helmet!! hahahahaha looks like a wonderful night :)

rubix cube February 03, 2015

So great!

kmh. February 04, 2015

Bring your own spoon? Really?! Wow haha.

Estonia sounds like such a fun place! What a great time :-D

Bluesea February 04, 2015

There is so much I love about this. OD/PB friends! 4 a.m. happy hours! Making money! Sounds like a fantastic time. I hope to be you when I grow up (or at least when my kids grow up and leave me alone :-)).

Complicated Disaster February 04, 2015

You're so damn hardcore with your winter swimming!! xx

Deleted user February 04, 2015

500 Euros, haha... love it.
Awesome adventures, always.

Miso Honey February 06, 2015

This looks like the best time. I really want to go to Estonia. My parents were there and loved it. Glad you had a rad time.

Also, you look gorgeous.

Mercurial Muse February 10, 2015

I love everything about this entry. You have also inspired another person to check out estonia.

Homebird February 10, 2015

I feel special and privileged cos I know a lot of this from Facebook! Love the helmet story though, and OMG but you get sexier/prettier in every photo. BTW, I saw a pic on FB recently that you had tagged as Brighton Beach and I thought you were in England and my heart stopped - I was going to drag my pneumonia wracked ass (a whole nother story) onto the plane asap, only to realize it was Brighton Beach in the US - boo! :(

dancerd February 15, 2015

I absolutely love this adventure!!!

Gaff the Horse in Tears February 23, 2015

Hi Satine - good to see you still here and living life to the full. Also good to see a few other familiar faces on prose box. After OD went down I opened an account but never quite got back into the habit of writing regularly. Which is a shame because… the OD community was a big part of my life.Well, must try and manage my time and get back here more often.
All best :)

Fabulous February 25, 2015

Great trip!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.