Catcalls in New Beginnings

  • Feb. 1, 2015, 8:28 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Catcalling has been a topic of discussion frequently, and all this talk of the issue brought this memory to my attention. About a decade ago, I was attending a local community college. I was finished for the day; it must have been about four o’clock, so I was walking to my car. I just happened to be walking adjacent to a fellow student. He wasn’t someone I knew. We just happened to be leaving from the same area of the building at the same time. For what it’s worth, one end of the school had a sort of commons area with a supply store, café, and a pavilion with tables and benches for eating and socializing. It must have been a Friday because the commons and pavilion were mostly empty.

I don’t remember what was said, but I remember a woman yelling something. Maybe she yelled, “Hey, Hot Stuff!” or just a simple “whoo!” What I distinctly recall was the fellow walking near me looked over at them, looked at me, and said, “Dude, I think they’re hollering at you.” He looked back at them, then back at me, and said, “They are! It’s all you, Man.”

You know what I did? NOTHING! I didn’t even look at them to see if they were hot. I smiled vacantly at him, thought to myself “Yeah, I guess they are,” and kept walking to my car like nothing had happened. Why couldn’t I have done something, and maybe gotten a date? Why didn’t I think to go over to whoever it was who hollered at me and strike up a conversation? I should have approached her and said something along the lines, “Well, if you think I’m so comely, why don’t you let me take you to dinner this weekend?” Alternatively, maybe I should have advised her to get her eyes checked.

Seriously, though. I used to jest that the only way I’d ever find a woman to marry would be if God beat me over the head with her, but even when He does that, I completely oblivious. Instead, I take about ten years to realize I missed a possible golden opportunity. Stupid Robbo.

Ladies, I’m not excusing when guys do it. I’ve never catcalled a woman myself. I understand when men do it, you feel uncomfortable. All that being said, if you wanted to turn the tables and give us a taste of our own medicine, doing so would give guys like me (I hope I’m not the only guy this dense) a lot of help, and I apparently need all the help I can get.


Last updated February 02, 2015


Waiting For Sunrise February 02, 2015

I think girls who say they hate being catcalled must either be so super attractive it just happens all the time and they're totally bored of it... or lying a little bit. Secretly, I'd think it was a compliment. So would you, I guess, from this... maybe I have a man-brain. :]

Robbo Waiting For Sunrise ⋅ February 02, 2015

Living in a few of the places I've lived, I can see how lecherous a lot of guys can be, and I can understand that even after brushing off the first time, the incessantness would grate on anyone. As for my single instance, I just appreciate the attention.

I think it was Buzz Feed that did a video on what it would be like if women catcalled men. One of the women characters yelled something along the lines of, "why don't we go back to my place and you can hold me all night." Of course, the guy in the video looks appalled, but I'd have responded, "Heck yeah! I love cuddling. Would you mind laying on top of me so I can stroke your back while we binge-watch Netflix?" Of course, I'm pretty sure if I got that opportunity in real life and responded as indicated, I'd probably get maced.

Star Maiden February 02, 2015

Haha.

Never cat called myself... But I have always made the first move.

Robbo Star Maiden ⋅ February 02, 2015

I must ask how do women make the first move? What's the indication that a woman wants a guy to ask her out? I need to figure out how to pick up on these signals.

Star Maiden Robbo ⋅ February 03, 2015

Oh I just come out and say it so I'm the wrong person to ask, lol. I've always been friends with the guy first though, never a stranger.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.