Behold The Beard in 2014: The Year That Was

  • Jan. 18, 2015, 7:31 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I’m feeling pretty sleepy as I type this sprawled out on the bed. There’s 2 empty beer bottles to my left and my loveable ball of fur (Queso), who arrived today, therapeutically purring up along side me.
The particular reason for my tiredness is due to my inability to sleep last night as I counted away the hours till Queso was delivered from the UK! I didn’t realise how much I’d miss being without him for two months! Erm, well actually given that I cried my eyes out when I left him at the cattery I think I actually had a damn good idea of the impact. But he’s here now! And aside from a rather vocal 30 minute investigation of the hotel apartment he appears as he always in, wonderfully relaxed and adorable affectionate
- It’s too sweet for words when he ‘strokes’ my face with his paws!

Life these days is wonderfully challenging. The days of Problem Management idling away my hours are a thing of the past. In this place I’m ‘managing’ a team of 14 as we transition the service to Madrid. We’ve two more weeks left of the 3 month transition and though they’re hitting the stats, the escalations have increased as myself (and London Management) try to install in the guys just what’s expected. Come the end of the month? The 1st Line Agents in London will be let go as the guys here are already taking 100% of everything.
What does this mean for me? Hmmm well there’s a few cravats on this topic. I need to get some legal advice around employment laws. Caught up with the boss of the building and from what I understand, they’re going to come back and offer me something but I need to puff my chest out a little and flop my nuts on the counter, I need to show balls!
Scenario 1. They offer me a position and a Spanish salary (a more favourable salary as obviously I will be paid less than my London wage but factoring in the differences in country – So here it depends on the money and the position. I want to carry on managing the team but I want to get paid right for it!
2. Now, linked to the above, if I don’t like what they offer me? My current job title is ‘Incident & Problem Manager’ – At least half of that title will definitely be transferred to Spain so I need some legal to tell me if they’re obligated to offer me the position first? And, do I retain my salary?
- Unfortunately (fortunately?) we’re off-shoring rather than outsourcing so TUPE doesn’t apply.
3. And also, there’s a strong chance the other half of my current position (the Problem Manager part) will be transferred to Paris. So, same questions apply?

That’s the work stuff. Whilst it all gets hashed out I’m enjoying a life of expenses with 80 euros a day for food and addictive Spanish sunshine almost every single day. I’m bemused by the volumes of beards in Spain hence I shaved my chin bare. It’s always a good sign when one of your favourite people (Too Kind) compliments you on this. She’s been helping me lots with mi espanyol, it’s tough as I didn’t know a thing before I came here. I still no little of nothing but I’m really enthusiastic about trying!

Spanish people are wonderfully outgoing at the best and worst of times it seems so I wasn’t surprised to enjoy a great atmosphere over Christmas. I saw a little of the parade of The Three Kings on the 6th but failed to consume my grapes as the bells signalled the end of 2014. I’m also incredibly Londonised hence was surprised that of the three kings, 2 white, 1 black, the ‘black’ king was a white guy in make-up!

Since I arrived here in Nov I’ve had a decent exposure to Madrid life, clubbing with randoms, and a trip to the Madrid stadium for the Liverpool game – VIP was insane. I need to visit the Prado and am desperate to go snowboarding.

And now my thoughts are trailing as I’ve lost the breadcrumb trail. Time to call time and ring the bell for the ferryman.


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.