The Process & The First Day in School Chronicles

  • Jan. 16, 2015, 4:17 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I do believe in one of my other books I detailed that I was accepted at a university to pursue studies in the paralegal field. I took charge, enrolled and I didn’t have an average finish to my high school career like I thought, so that placed me on a probationary status, or I am what is known as a conditional student.

Because I never received some pertinent items, I felt like an idiot yesterday, which was my first day. I’ve been concerned about books, things I will need. I haven’t been in touch with anyone there since I was accepted. So I thought it would be me just showing up and being told what I needed and there it is.

Well, I’m the only student of the six in my class new to the whole college experience in itself. I was kind of unprepared when the teacher was talking the syllabus and handouts being online and, “Have you been on Cavas yet?” and I’m looking stupified at all of it. I’ve driven past the main campus, through the main campus, but have never taken a tour. I don’t know where anything is. I don’t know how much I was granted in financial aid. I don’t know anything. I don’t know where to get the books from. I got questions damnit! My advisor is new and I wanted to speak with him before I left yesterday, but he was on the phone. I figured it could wait. And it can. Now that I know what I need to find out and what I need to do, I will be on that as much as possible today. Those pertinent items I didn’t receive had information I needed.

Otherwise the first day was great. It was an engaging class. A politcal science major, two cops, two ladies wanting to be lawyers, and then there is me. I’m okay with being behind the scenes because I don’t talk much anyway. It’s reflected in the way I write. LOL I write a lot because I have a lot to say, but since I don’t like to talk much I don’t say it.

The teacher was an attorney, a judge, and now she works in the family court system of the county. She’s told us some funny war stories, it’s been really cool so far. We will be watching law related movies, learning how to write briefs.

The first time I went to a business school/college my major was paralegal. I let someone talk me out of it which was stupid. I took a business law class and got a B. With this program I’m not having to deal with math (YES!!) and can get to the core of what I want. I believe this is the best fit for me. This is wonderful. I will do just fine. As long as I know I will do fine, as long as I BELIEVE I will do fine, I will be just great!

Educationally speaking (lol),
Sister


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.