Catch Up in Scottish Meanderings

  • Jan. 13, 2015, 6:57 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Now where was I?? Oh way back in April ...... bugger.

A quick update with headings might be an idea then.

The Job

I packed it in at the end of June last year. Basically because it - and the people I was working for - were driving me completely bananas which, I have to say, is exactly the way I thought it would go but which I’d hoped I was wrong about! It was supposed to be very similar to what I had been doing at the NAS but because they were so desperate for money to keep them going it turned into mainly PR and fundraising both of which are not my forte. That sounds very pedantic but there were a million and one other very irritating and annoying things and a lot of them were not things I could particularly change unfortunately. And they were just so stressed all the time it really did my head in - I was miserable enough of my own volition without them adding to it and by May I was finding it harder and harder to motivate myself to get out there so just thought this is sooooo not worth it and handed my notice in.

I didn’t look for a job straight away - took a break for a few months because I knew I needed one - but in November I was back jobhunting and I’ve applied for a couple in the last month or two.

I’ve been amazed at how much my self-worth has been affected by not working though. I’ve just felt completely useless as though my whole identity had been wrapped up in work which I had never really felt it was before - it’s been quite bizarre I have to say.

Nikki

Nikki is expecting her second baby in March this year. It’s another girl so she’s really looking forward to it. Joel is the dad but there’s no prospect of them getting together although it looked like it for a while around October/November of last year. I think Joel was just ‘trying to do the right thing’ but not actually wanting to which is a complete recipe for disaster so I’m glad they didn’t go ahead. He does however now give her £700 a month which has meant, along with housing benefit, she can afford a higher rent and has found what seems like a nice 2-bedroom bungalow around half an hour’s drive away.

She gets the keys on Monday but it’s unfurnished so I’ve just spent an arm an a leg buying all the big things she needs to move in and paying her first month’s deposit and rent. That was money I had set aside to pay university fees for a postgraduate counselling course which I had applied to do last year but didn’t get accepted - good bloody job otherwise she’d be screwed!

We’re pretty organised for the move I think but have been let down by the removal guy I’d booked before Christmas who now appears to have vanished from the face of the earth which is strange because he’d done a couple of jobs for me before and seemed a really nice guy. However Nikki had bought an entertainment unit on Gumtree and the guy selling it very kindly said he could deliver it so we decided it would be less hassle to take it round to my house than humph it upstairs to her flat. Which he did at teatime tonight and I noticed he had a white van ...... so I asked if he did removals by any chance and he did! He gave me his card and said just to e-mail him all the details and he’d give me a quote.

I like it when that happens.

I’m not sure how she’ll cope with me not being quite so much available to be at her beck and call (she’s only 5 minutes away here and it’s very easy to drop in past) or just instantly available for babysitting but I think it’ll be a good move in more ways than one. She might make more friends in a small community (the place she’s moving to is like a little village) and it might be a good step to getting used to me not being JUST THERE which of course I won’t be anyway when I go back to work.

So we’ll see how that one pans out.

Lily

Continues to make us laugh.

She’s 3 months past 2 now so at a delightful age - as long as you have her in short bursts lol! It’s really fascinating watching how she makes sense of the world which she must think is a completely barmy confusing place I would imagine with adults who do the daftest of things and are never consistent.

The Furry Things

Also keep making me smile.

Bailey continues to have somewhat of a bag fetish.

Snarf couldn’t wait for Christmas morning.

Willow is a headcase.

But basically they’re pals. Sometimes.

Except there’s one missing now ......

As some of you will know from Facebook, poor Trooper had to go to the Rainbow Bridge in September after he snapped at a couple of older kids (with no provocation) between June and August. It was a horrible horrible time and I still feel like I’ve murdered my best friend but we couldn’t find anything physically wrong and I just couldn’t have kept him safely away from Lily, an impending baby and the cats and rightly or wrongly, I didn’t want to go down the road of muzzling, caging or shutting away in case he thought he was being punished.

He had a very peaceful passing though - I found a really lovely vet just before the whole dilemma and he talked things through with me a couple of times then when he came to the house to put Trooper to sleep he just couldn’t have been nicer or more patient. I’m so glad I found him.

And Trooper was nearly 12 so very likely wouldn’t have had too much time left in the natural scheme of things but that still doesn’t stop you feeling like a complete traitor. I just hope he was happy when he was with me.

Mum

She’s still going strong - well not that strong I suppose but she’s still in the world and still in her own flat. She’s almost 94 and gave us a scare last year in the summer when she fell and had to go into hospital. She became terribly confused and was convinced there was some sort of dreadful conspiracy going on in the ward - it was awful to see her so frightened and not be able to reassure her everything was okay. I very much doubt if we’ll get her into hospital again after that experience which is worrying given that it’s quite likely she may need to go in for something or other at some point.

My sister bears the brunt of most of her care and my brother and niece help out but I think the time may not be far off when we’ll need to think of more regular care. She’s had carers in at various times but always busts a gut to try and show them she can take care of herself thereby eventually ousting herself out of the package! And it’s terribly difficult to get them at any short notice - they’re always really stretched - same old story - not enough staff to go round. Anyway I suppose it’s a bridge we’ll have to cross when we come to it.

This is turning out much longer than I’d planned. Quelle surprise.

A good start back into the fray though although how I’m ever going to catch up with all of you now I have no idea!

I miss Open Diary so much.


Last updated March 28, 2018


Deleted user January 13, 2015

Wow, your mum is doing well to live alone at her age.

Lily is still gorgeous!

Thanks for the update!

Marg Deleted user ⋅ January 14, 2015

She is yes - I think the only way she'll leave that flat is in a box! :)

Deleted user January 13, 2015

Yeah, OD's passing still brings pangs. But, glad to see you back here. I remember Trooper very well, and I KNOW he knew he was loved. Wee lily has certainly grown. What a cutie. I understand about the work life ---> misery, which is why I left mine. And about the deprivation of a label to put on yourself. You're going to find your new path .. really you are.

Marg Deleted user ⋅ January 14, 2015

Thank you! I really really hope so. At this age you kinda think you should have found it by now :)

blackpropaganda January 15, 2015

Great to read the catch up Marg - and so sorry about Trooper - but he had a good innings - and you still have your pussies. I hope you are still doing some writing - and try to make this more like OD, although it ain't I know. I just to like writing something when I can - whatever seems relevant to how I am thinking. Hoping for more from you

Marg blackpropaganda ⋅ January 16, 2015

I'll try to keep it up - I've been writing every day pretty much which has been quite good from a therapeutic point of view. Still getting the odd thing published here and there but I've mainly been writing in a journalistic sense so at least if nothing else has happened in these long months I've recorded a slice of the life going on around me!

RadioactiveSquirrel January 19, 2015

Great to read this :) I had wondered how you and yours were doing. Lily has got so big! I'm so sorry to hear about Trooper hugs xxxxx

edna million January 24, 2015

!!!! An update!!!! Like, ummm, I can talk. But the weird thing is, this did not show up in my bookmarks. Although I think it's the way my bookmarks are set up maybe... I only ever have maybe two pages of them, and it seems like after a few days the older ones just drop off (and I am going weeks and weeks without coming to PB.) I was just thinking about you and decided to see if you'd made an entry... and here one is!

You certainly have had a lot going on. I am so sorry about Trooper- I didn't realize that was why you'd had to have him put to sleep. How awful for you, but you are so right, you had no choice. One of my cousins had to do the same thing a few years ago (Cousin E's sister, actually). Their dog had suddenly started being very aggressive and despite vet visits, doggie prozac and even doggie therapy, nothing helped. Her other sister had small children at the time and they were afraid Nicco would attack them. When he bit my cousin and wouldn't let go, they knew they had no other choice. Trooper had a very very happy life with you, and a very peaceful leaving.

edna million January 24, 2015

Exciting about the New Baby-- it makes me think of my dad, though, and how baffled he is at These Kids Today. Both my nieces have kids and no husbands, although one has lived with her boyfriend for years and years (the one that also has a Lily! Who is about to turn 3). And they are all doing fine. Nice to see adorable kitty pictures too. And I'm so glad your mom is still doing well, all things considered. Mark's mom will be 94 in March, and still lives on her own, giving us all occasional scares.

Good luck on the job front-- I always think I'd loooove not working, but I know I'd feel the exact same way after doing it all my life, if it wasn't due to retiring. I can't imagine many things I'd hate worse than PR and fundraising. Or be worse at.

Keep writing!! I vow every few months that I will start writing here consistently again, but I'm not doing a very good job. I was the same way at OD towards the end.

edna million January 24, 2015

AH. I've just found out why I didn't see this. I have my bookmarks listed by "latest" instead of "all". Apparently latest just shows two pages, and each individual entry, so my friends who write every day are bumping off everyone else. Mystery solved.

skyelord February 03, 2015

That's a lovely granddaughter you have :-)

Deleted user May 16, 2015

Hey, I have been trying to tidy up my diary, and although you are on may Faves list, I hadn't noticed that you hadn't been here for some time. I hope you are Ok.

Redcat May 19, 2015

Hello..I found you! Judging by this latest entry, you don't write that much either. It should be easy to catch up with me. You, on the other hand, will take some time. Lily is beyond adorable!!

Ceylon Sapphire June 04, 2015

Good catch up... going to hassle you to write more! LOL

skyelord July 19, 2015

That has been so nice to read and catch up with you, see your still a dab hand with the photo inputs :-) I was over in skye for a few weeks doing my reminiscing as one does, thought about popping over your way but couldn't remember where it was :-)

skyelord July 19, 2015

I must spend more time trying o put photos in

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.