Sunday 01/11/15 in Lady Loves the Ocean

  • Jan. 11, 2015, 12:34 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I know it’s been awhile since I have been here. And I vowed to myself after the New Year that I would get back into writing again. So here I am. I have been here to read my friends entries. I just haven’t felt like writing. So today will probably be a discombobbled mess of crap from my head. So bear with me if you are a reader. I promise it’s not always like this.

I have been suffering from the Flu since last Sunday. I could feel it coming on. Woke up Monday morning throat was sore, had a deep cough, a bad headache and body aches. I went to work. Made it through the whole 8 hr. shift barely. Got myself home and into bed and that was it. I was done for the week. I called in everyday until Thursday. I attempted to return and lasted until noon when I got sick after lunch. I left work came home to bed and called in on Friday. I have never missed that much work in a row for an illness. This flu is wicked stuff. I don’t remember much of Tues., Wednesday, or even Thursday. I though my fever broke late Wednesday night but i think I spiked one again on Thursday night. Because I can’t explain the thoughts and dreams I was having. And I woke up drenched. To me this is a very strange bug. My main complaint is the cough. It’s deep and gruff sounding in my chest. Nothing plugging my nose. Nasal passages are open. I am blowing my nose a lot, coughing a lot, going to the bathroom a lot and running a low grade fever. It makes you feel miserable. I slept a lot the first 3 days. I am doing better finally.

I went out yesterday. It had warmed up to 12 degrees. And I needed groceries. So off to walmart I went. I think everyone must have been shut in all week too. Because everyone and his brother was there. It didn’t stop me though. I needed food. And i was hungry. Out of my way people. lol. I also needed to get all of my prescriptions refilled. That took forever. By the time I was done I was exhausted. I ran through the drive through at Culver’s and grabbed a tenderloin basket. I hadn’t eaten much all week and I felt like I was starving. I ate it all.

Then when I got back home I had to deal with the guy that is suppose to be taking care of my snow removal. He had left a note on my door earlier in the week that he wanted to be paid. I knew that I owed him for at least two times because I had a hard time reaching him because of our schedule conflict. I have never been that late before he is usually paid on the spot. So when he isn’t paid instead of continuing to do his job knowing he will be paid in full he does the job half ass. So Thursday night when we had high winds and 2 inches of fresh snow he just didn’t bother doing anything but coming up and leaving a NOTE on my door. I had been calling him all week to connect to pay him but he would not answer. When I went out to start my car on Friday I had to crawl through drifts. I was pissed. I pay him very well. I have never made him wait for his money before and he knows of my situation with my back and why I can’t do this myself. So I explained myself yet again. He plowed out the whole drive way and I paid him in full. I told him this is what I expect each time. Not a half ass job where I can’t get to my car or someone can fall and get hurt. I live in a moblie home. In a mobile home park. So there are rules about keeping your area clear of snow. He also takes care of my lawn in the summer. He lives here too.

Here like everywhere else we have had a dramatic change in our weather since the end of December. Temps didn’t get above 0 all week. And with windchill some days it was -35 or colder. So yesterday at 15 degrees it felt like a heat wave. Today we have sunshine and it’s around 26 degrees. This I can handle. We had this wicked spell last year with - temps for weeks. And I battled with frozen pipes and my car not starting. Thank god those problems got taken care of. And I got a new battery for my car. I drive a small ford focus z5. It is not good in snow. But it’s paid off. I want a new car. An SUV but I don’t want the payment. Have I ever said how much I hate Iowa winters? I know I should just move. But family keeps me here. I have even thought about living somewhere else 6 months out of the year. Wouldn’t that be the ideal life?

I am very thankful for what I have. My house is paid for and my car too. I have a good job. ( After being let go from a job I had for 18 yrs last december). I like it. I don’t like driving 20 miles each way each day but it could be worse as well. I have been working at Sedgwick since August 18th. Almost 5 months. Time flies.

You can tell I am in the mood to talk today. I have so much inside of me. I find myself shutting myself off from people at work. Afraid to make friends or get close again. There are people that I was in training with that are still close and talking but I keep my distance when they gather as a group. I am older than most. The person that was in my class that was my age I remain close too and we actually ended up sitting next to each other. I like that. And everyone else I have met at work is great as well. But I hesitate. I don’t want too. I want to have fun and be with others. Time will tell I guess.

I really hope to start coming back here and writing again. As you can see I have a lot on my mind. I need to stop flaking on the things that make me feel better. I am going to stop for now. Enough purging of my brain for now.

Later....


Silent Echo/Quiet Storm January 11, 2015

i found it difficult to make friends at work cause you just don't know who you can really trust. i have one friend from work that i've had over 35 years. i don't like cold weather, either. i don't like living in new england but my daughter and grandson are here so here i stay til son in law retires and we move to tennessee. writing out is a good way to think things thru. take care,

Lis75 January 11, 2015

I have a few friends at work that are my age I don't make to many friends cause of trust issues. Welcome back

Spilledperfume January 11, 2015

Everything Good Rebecca January 12, 2015

Glad you wrote again! Hope you have a wonderful new year!

Lola Falana March 08, 2015

I am so happy to see your post. I thought you gave up but so glad you didn't. Glad your feeling better.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.