Music and more on our Active30 in Days of My Destiny

  • Jan. 2, 2015, 3:38 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

L is setting up some of his music gear that he hasn’t had set up anywhere in any of our homes since 2008. It’s a great feeling, watching him be inspired again to make music. He’s got a beat happening and he wants me to make up a little keyboard melody to go with part of it and he’ll record it and use it. Pretty awesome :)

We’ve been saying that our kids never see us do the things we really love, particularly to do with music. I rarely play my guitar. I rarely play the keyboard. I rarely sing. They love seeing me sing. They rarely see daddy playing with his MIDI and turntables and so on.

So it’s time :)

Today was the third day we did our “Active30” as I’ve begun to call it (our thirty minutes of exercise everyday). It should’ve been the 4th day but we had a day off yesterday. I’ve been pretty busy de-cluttering and stuff, I just needed a lazy day lol.

Day Two - we warmed up by jogging around the backyard again, then we rode our bikes around the paddocks for 15 minutes. After that we came back and did some squats and sit-ups, and we also did a plank (Little L for 18 seconds, M for 34 and me for 65). Then we cooled off by walking around the backyard.

Day Three - L joined us today. We warmed up by jogging around the backyard. We did it twice this time, but only because M hadn’t put her sneakers on and took forever to do so after our first warm up! Then we hopped on our bikes and went for a huge bikeride for the rest of the half hour! It felt awesome!! We went way further than we did the other day. We were limited the other day because the cows were in the way of where we wanted to go and the mothers are very protective of their young. The cows know me - I’ve reunited calf with mother many times and they never come for me - but I don’t want to push it. Little L is on a bike with training wheels and for some reason she keeps getting her back wheel stuck in places where the ground is lower. So one of us stayed with her today to give her the little pushes she needed to keep going.

Whenever we stopped I kept trying to balance my bike on one spot without my legs touching the ground, the way real bike riders do at a traffic light. M tried it too. I could tell she felt big and cool. We stopped to stretch and drink water, and then we did one more stop to run sideways to the next post and back and then we did 20 start jumps. The views out there were amazing :)

On the way back, L did some really cool tricks on his bike. He made it jump. I tried after that and it’s actually way harder than it looks lol! I could only get the front tyre off the ground! Then, while riding his bike, L stood on the bar that connects the seat to the handle bars, while his hands were still on the handle bars. He’s a pro ;) I could tell M was impressed.

The youthful feeling I get from riding my bike is just AMAZING! Why have I waited so long to get back on it? (Oh that’s right, there are lots of catheads around here that can pop the tyres. See http://www.northwestweeds.com.au/images/NWW1003WX-Cathead-closeup-w.jpg) I could feel the wind in my face and it reminded me of when I was a kid and my brother and I would ride our bikes and go exploring, and I’d get this exciting feeling from the adventure!

The girls LOVE our Active30 so far. I love that it wasn’t a New Year’s Resolution or anything, it’s just something I started 2 days before the new year rolled in. Feels good that I kind of accidentally “cheated the system” haha. I plan to do it everyday as much as possible. Of course we will have rest days and so on. Their little faces were pink from it all at the end, and I can really see them putting in a great effort and really loving this time together. I don’t know why I hadn’t clicked before that it takes more than just them seeing me exercise at the gym or with my friends for them to want to be active!

I also found that after being active together, they were WAY more active for the rest of the day than they ever have been! So there are only pluses to this thing ;)


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.