Tuesday: Upper A, Week 5. in Exerbabble III

  • Dec. 30, 2014, 9:41 a.m.
  • |
  • Public


    Tuesday, 12-30-14
    Cycle I, Week 5: Upper A

    Yesterday's nutrition: Light for a lifting day.
    Last night's sleep: 7 hours.

    GYM STUFF:

    DB Press: 5 @ 30 lbs
    5, 5, 5 @ 47.5 lbs (+2.5 lbs)
    Chins: 3 @ BW
    5, 5, 5 @ +30 lbs (+2.5 lbs)

    DB Bench Press: 5 @ 45 lbs
    8, 8, 8 @ 65 lbs
    BB Bent-over Row: 5 @ 90 lbs
    8, 6, 6 @ 140 lbs

    Tricep Pushdown: 10, 10, 7 @ 60 lbs
    EZ-BB Curl: 10, 10, 10 @ 55 lbs

    upper stretching

    Crux of workout: 54 minutes

It’s not that overhead pressing is somehow easier than anything else, but the loads themselves have always been relatively light enough that I never had to put much thought into stabilizing myself. Bench has a form, squat has a form, even getting into bent-over row position has a form. The set-up is part of the entire sequence. Much like dumbbell bench presses require effort from the moment I pick up the dumbbells, I’m having to concentrate a bit more with overhead presses.

Still glad I favored dumbbells over barbells. For whatever reason, my form with barbell pressing would shift and cause discomfort/pain in my lower back. So. None of that. : )

DB bench felt pretty confident today. Only the last rep of the last set was a grinder, and a grinder it was. The kind of grinder I would never chance with a barbell, but I will attempt with dumbbells and almost always finish.

I’ve noticed I feel the first set of pressdowns in my abs. Go figure. Added a rep to the second set, lost a rep in the last set. It happens. Curls felt good. (Ew, I never thought I’d say that.)

Week 6 will bring 70 lbs for db bench. Last time I did that I was pressing singles for fun. As well, I’ll be pressing 50 lbs, which used to be a single or double at best. Wasn’t my goal to take 1RMs and turn them into something doable for sets?


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.