out of the saddle again in 2014

Revised: 12/26/2014 11:21 p.m.

  • Nov. 13, 2014, 2 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

9:07pm

So, I am back from Texas! It was quite the trip. Amazing, fun, exhausting, and totally wonderful. The work was crazy busy. Like we had to wake up at 5:30am, which felt more like 3:30am according to my internal California clock. =| But it all worked out pretty well.

We got in late on Saturday after we missed our connection in LAX by 10 minutes and had a three hour delay. That was interesting. I was pretty proud of myself though because I didn’t get stressed out by it at all. [well there was that one moment after we got off the plane, realized we actually missed the flight (even after the airline lady told us we could make it and we rushed), were hungry, and there were suddenly a ton of people EVERYWHERE…but that didn’t last much longer than it took to eat a giant chicken sandwich and sit quietly at a table)
It was just whatever. Life happens, so I rolled with it despite being tired. No worries, no big deal. :-)

I’ll probably go into more details about this later. I’m not feeling it right now. Just wanted to make some quick notes and the rest of the Texas story will come when I’ve got more time.

We got in late Monday night and have been working every day since then. Mostly because it’s our busy delivery season and we’ve had packages coming three days this week. And there’s a ton of work to do.

I have a couple new clients that need stuff done and so there are stacks of papers sitting in boxes around the office. Hopefully I can get it all organized and sorted in the next few weeks. JR came over today to drop stuff off. I’d called yesterday but he was busy so we decided to meet today even though we weren’t technically open. The office was only supposed to be open one day this week. hah.

He called a couple minutes after we got there and asked if I’d tried to call. I said it was on my list [I’d gotten distracted by that video of the baby elephant fending off all those lions!] and he said he was next door and thought he saw our car in the parking lot. Stalking much?

After he dropped off all his random paperwork, he was hanging around my desk. I was shifting things and trying to get all my spaces set up for productive work. He started, very softly, whispering a song. I recognized it, but I can’t remember what it was. I seem to recall the word “beautiful” in it though, I think. Maybe it was a country song? Or at least something easily recognizable by my ears. Really wish I could remember it! argh. But my point is that my brain goes to all these weird places because it was so random. Almost like a hint at something, or something. =\

I hope this isn’t one of those things that gets awkward and weird. Because I think we could be pretty good friends (if it ever went outside work). He’s nice enough and has a decent sarcastic streak. I wouldn’t ever go there though. Reasons including: 1) I don’t ever want to be anyone’s rebound, 2) he was engaged to be married and this breakup is super recent, 3) he previously dated one of my oldest childhood friends, and 4) there’s too much history with too many people I know.
As long as he never actually overtly hints at a more than friends thing, I think we’ll be good to go.

Speaking of making friends at work: I haven’t heard anything from CK since Halloween. I sent a text the day after to ask how the move went and whether or not he was able to finish, but heard nothing back. I’m not entirely surprised. He tends to disappear. Like he’s not sure what to say to me or how to keep a conversation going, especially when he knows I’ll be out of town.

I’m on the fence about what to do about the whole situation. Some days, like the ones right after we hang out and then he stops talking, I don’t want to bother with it at all. Just let it go and move on. But then I think about how it’s so nice to just go with it. Ride the wave. Whatever happens, happens. I enjoy living in the moment like that. Doing what feels right at the time. It’s kinda nice and freeing to say what I want without trying to filter everything. Also, doing things like taking off at 10 o’clock at night to drive to the middle of nowhere for a couple of beers and a good conversation have worked out well for me. I don’t regret any of the moments after they’re over, even when I’m feeling bad about all the ups and downs. So I guess that mostly answers my question.

I’ll just take it one day at a time and let it play itself out. I’ve been saying that since the day we met but sometimes I forget to follow my own advice. Typical Rose.

We had our first fire of the season tonight. [Reading that over, I see how maybe it sounds like something other than a fire in our fireplace. haha.]
It’s finally getting chilly enough to warrant it [but no heater yet!]. Funny story: it took me forever to light the fire. Normally I’m really good at it. Like it’s been my job to always light the fire for years now. It never takes that long. But then I realized that the world was helping me out. We were at the office for a good chunk of the day, missing lunch, and when we got home I was starving. I had a slice of celery with peanut butter because I wanted to wait for mom to cook her chicken soup. I opted for leftovers, but I still wanted to wait. So I realized that spending all that time trying to light the fire was actually a really good distraction from the hunger I was in! If it had lit right away, I probably would have been sitting in this chair grumbling to myself about how much I just wanted to eat everything in sight.

Funny how the world works! =]

Also, I’m on a self-imposed diet of sorts. I came back from Texas weighing an extra 10 pounds! I can’t remember the last time I gained that much while out of town. Darn you texas sized food and drinks! ;)

But seriously, I haven’t weighed this much since like senior year of high school and it’s probably my highest weight ever. Not that it’s all that much. I still mostly fit into my clothes, but it’s not where I want to be. I could tell while we were gone too. My pants weren’t looking right on me or feeling that great. So I need to get to a better place with this. I kept wanting to lose weight before we left, but never really had the motivation. I guess I found it now! =\ Food’s being cut back, mostly portion sizes and trying not to indulge in so much junk, and I’ve given up the drinking. I know that’s probably a big part of it. All the beer and mixed drinks. For at least the next week I’ll be exclusively drinking tea and/or plain water in the evenings instead of my usual drink. And only water, milk, tea, or coffee during the day. Should be good times. My brother actually laughed out loud when I told him I was going to stop drinking for the week.

Thanks bro, thanks a lot!

I need to go to bed but mom’s actually sleeping on the couch next to me and I don’t want to wake her up with my squeaky chair. We need to get to work early tomorrow to wait for a package and an appointment at noon, even though we’re still technically closed..

Oh she’s moving. Gotta go.

rose.
10:51pm


Last updated December 26, 2014


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.