Wednesday: Upper A, Week 4. in Exerbabble III

  • Dec. 24, 2014, 3:52 p.m.
  • |
  • Public


    Wednesday, 12-24-14
    Cycle I, Week 4: Upper A

    Yesterday's nutrition: Good despite fast food.
    Last night's sleep: insomnia; 5.5 hours.

    GYM STUFF:

    DB Press: 5 @ 30 lbs
    5, 5, 6 @ 45 lbs (+2.5 lbs)
    Chins: 3 @ BW
    5, 5, 6 @ +27.5 lbs (+2.5 lbs)

    DB Bench Press: 5 @ 45 lbs
    8, 8, 7 @ 65 lbs
    BB Bent-over Row: 5 @ 90 lbs
    8, 6, 6 @ 140 lbs (+5 lbs)

    Tricep Pushdown: 10, 9, 8 @ 60 lbs (+5 lbs)
    EZ-BB Curl: 10, 9, 9 @ 55 lbs

    Face Pull With External Rotation: 3x12 @ 14 lbs (7 lbs/arm)

    upper stretching

    Crux of workout: 68 minutes

Ya know, I wasn’t expecting to cruise along with presses the way they have. I’ve never really done work sets greater than 50 lbs for dumbbells. 50 lbs was always near my 1RM. By this time next month, I’ll be doing it for sets. That’s the definition of progress. Chins are cruising along, as well.

I feel pretty confident I’ll hit 3x8 for db bench next session. Meaning in two weeks I’ll be using 70’s. Last time I used 70’s, they were a 1RM. Boggles my mind. Mostly because I still don’t look like I lift.

Added two reps to curls. I believe that’s also in there for the definition of getting stronger and “progress”. Had the cable apparatus I was using stolen, so the sets were a little out of order, but I still got it all done. I think that’s why the workout time drifted up a little.

Face pulls were tossed in because I feel a tightness on the outside of my arm after these workouts. It feels like I want to stretch my external rotators, which is rather strange. I figure some light face pulls never hurt. : )

Some part of me was scared I’d stall quickly with this plan, and fall flat on my face. Weekly progression, but biweekly frequency. I’m not sure whether this qualifies as double progression or not, but making progress every single workout is what’s giving me a mental edge right now. I have a long ways to go until this time next year, and it would deflate me to hit a wall early.


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.