Bar Bar The Elephant: Day 7 in Book One: The Not So Daily Briefs 2014

Revised: 12/23/2014 5:59 p.m.

  • Dec. 23, 2014, 5:27 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

An interesting element of today: studying when the wife has the day off. I honestly don’t know what my hang up is… best guess is that I worry that my wife is going to criticize me, I suppose… but when it comes to chores, studying, or doing anything to specifically further a positive end… I just feel more comfortable doing it when the wife isn’t home. Perhaps it is because as I sit studying… watching videos, taking notes, and (admittedly) playing a mindless facebook game to keep myself awake… my wife keeps looking at me like I’m not doing anything of value… and has repeatedly asked me to “do something productive” today. ::sigh:: ::grumph:: Studying for the bar exam IS something productive!! Besides, the movies she is watching… involve/overlap medication, psychology, and criminal law. OF COURSE I am going to be interested as balls… psychology and criminal law. But… I’ll be honest… this is my wheel house and my interest… and I comment. When I apologize to her as I can tell it upsets her, she says in a very negative way “I wound up marrying a lawyer.” Like it is a bad thing. That… gets to me.

That might be why the early morning wake up and study routine will benefit me in the long run. I’ve trained my body (finally) to wake up naturally around 6 am so I can study or do whatever. The brutally honest truth is that, on average, waking up at 6 am means I’m awake a full 5 hours before the wife will get out of bed. Today’s plan for study: All criminal (should take five hours) and at least start on Evidence. No matter what… by the end of the day, I should have a full 10 hours of study under my belt so far. AND, if all goes according to plan, I should get another run in today… which would put me at a cumulative of over 10 miles for the last three days. All of that would be good news. And despite the Holiday Season and the excitement of seeing family in a few days (w00t to seeing baby, brother, and dogs!)… I am just in a place right now where good news is very welcome.

-wanders off to study-

Study:
Eeek. Crimes Against The Person exam didn’t go as well as I had hoped. I got 6 out of 11 questions wrong. :( Apparently, I need to refresh myself on the 9 different types of murder charges… but the most interesting aspect? A lot of questions have answer choices like (1) Yes, reason A; (2) Yes, reason B; (3) No, reason A; (4) No, reason B. Typically in this category I do not have problems determining correctly the Yes/No element… simply the reason element.
Followed soon thereafter by: OH HOLY GOD! My Crimes Against Property examination was an absolute BLOODLETTING. UGH! So many questions about whether the charge merged as a lesser included offense or if it stood alone. Crikey!! Granted… by this point, I was super tired. I mean… I had been studying since 6am and the time was around quarter to ten… but… holy monkey balls, I did shittily. Note to Self: Incohate crimes, conspiracy.... learn ‘em!
Aaaaaaaaaaaaand finally Criminal Procedure; this is an area I honestly did fairly well in when I was in school; I also did fairly well in the diagnostic exam. But… I’ll be honest, small little apartment, wife home watching a movie… maybe I shouldn’t have stayed here for study but… gah, I don’t want to leave my home the week of Christmas… too many humans in the street. It is just… too much to continue right now. So I had to cut it short. Plus… I have to be honest.... this movie the wife is watching right now is bloody brilliant! Side Effects is the perfect movie for me… psychology, medical malpractice, white collar crime, murder. I haven’t seen a perfect storm like this since Primal Fear.

Hour Goal: 400 Hours
Hours Today: 5 Hours
Hours Remaining: 382
Roughly, Time Until Exam: 62 Days

It’s funny, though. When I was studying this morning, hours before the wife woke up, I was very focused and determined. Except for one nagging thing dancing in the back of my mind. Possibly best explained as follows:
alt text
alt text
alt text


Last updated December 23, 2014


QueSeraSera December 23, 2014

i like what you write down after studying. i think this is a great way to study as you are going over what you read, why you excelled at and did not etc. = to remember or go over. good idea in writing down the overview.

:)

i am assuming you may take a break 24th and 25th :)

Park Row Fallout QueSeraSera ⋅ December 23, 2014

THANK YOU! I worry that it is silly to write out but... honestly, come February, I am hoping that keeping track of all of this will come in handy to show where I should concentrate my last minute cramming if it comes to that. My break will be the 24th (just because I'll be working and traveling so won't have time) and 25th (because... yeah, I won't be in any position to study, lol.)

Fawkes Gal December 24, 2014

Could you maybe ask your wife to refrain from watching movies that you're interested in during study times? Could she save those for later and watch movies that only she's interested in when you're busy?

Park Row Fallout Fawkes Gal ⋅ December 24, 2014

That is kind of the funny thing. Wife played that movie thinking it would be some passably interesting medical drama; the film took us both quite by surprise when it proved to be far more interesting. lol. I think, ultimately, I am going to need to be proactive. Like... if she has the day off and I need to study, I should just go to Starbucks or something.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.