Things To Do in Days of My Destiny

  • Dec. 17, 2014, 10:01 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

  • Wrap all presents

  • Finish piñata (which has ended up having the shape of a rotten grape - which is just hilarious)

  • Wrap pass-the-parcel items

  • Bake birthday cakes and freeze them

  • Bake cookies for the party bags (I totally forgot to buy stuff for those)

  • Decorate cakes (Friday’s job - I need two cakes so then I can cut them into the required puzzle-like pieces to then put together to make a dolphin)

  • Write in Christmas cards. Send at some point. They probably won’t even make it to the people’s letterboxes by Christmas but whatevs. I have a list of people to whom I always send cards. They’re old neighbours and old-old friends and old ladies who are friends with my mother-in-law who have always gone to the trouble of sending the girls birthday presents. Those sort of people. Lol. Not close enough to know I actually am not fussed on the Christmas Card thing, but not too distant to ignore on Christmas either haha. They are lovely.

  • Organize mattresses / sleeping area for the sleepover

I’m sure there’s more. Like “mop dried paint off kitchen floors” and the like.

A rough timeline:

20 Dec - M’s birthday party (sleepover)

21 Dec - L’s parents arrive

24 Dec - L’s parents leave. We do The Christmas Thing somewhere in between.

25 Dec - we wake up to our first Christmas alone. I am actually looking forward to this - to have Christmas OUR way. We don’t even know what our way is.

26 Dec - alone, right up until..

Mid Jan sometime - L is off work for 2 weeks. We hang out, then go camping, then come home and hang out a bit more.

End Jan / Early Feb - my daughter starts Year 2. YEAR TWO!!! She is so big. Also, I start official, paid work two days a week (after 4 years and 4 months of no paid work of any kind!). Little L will be at preschool on those days. Also, my younger sis comes to stay with us for a while (I don’t know how long, but maybe a month or more). I’m assuming this is happening because mum hasn’t said an outright No yet. And honestly I don’t think she’ll be able to. (She knows I could do with some company.)


Last updated December 17, 2014


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.