Bar-Bar The Elephant: Day 3 in Book One: The Not So Daily Briefs 2014

  • Dec. 17, 2014, 6:15 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Oh, what a day. I had yesterday off from work, but so did the wife.... so I didn’t get much studying done. Today I had to wake up early and go to work… which means I am super sleepy right now… but the wife also has the day off. For whatever reason, I don’t like studying with her in the apartment. Maybe I worry she’ll interrupt me; maybe I am worried about struggling in front of her; I don’t know what it is… I just know I don’t prefer to study when she’s around. That being said, I needed to study so I did so today in spite of myself.

It is finally getting consistently below freezing temperatures around here. As always a little good/a little bad. The freezing temperatures, plus the hydration, plus the new soap have REALLY helped my itchiness lately (knock on wood, no jinx!) but at the same time… the cold weather makes me feel super stiff. Every time I move, my joints crack and pop so much it is as though I am a human stuffed with bubble wrap. I don’t know if I’ll have the time or opportunity to schedule something BEFORE the Bar or AFTER but… I definitely have to allow myself the indulgence of a professional massage at some point… otherwise, my back might just never forgive me.

Today’s studying was more work in the Foundational class. Last time we covered intentional torts and discovered an important test taking tip for myself. The bar tends to have a lot of times where several of the multiple choice answers are technically correct or technically really close to correct. So I would struggle. I would look at an answer and think “Well… one says ‘Yes, a harmful or offensive touching did occur.’ one says ‘No, he did not intend to strike the landlord.’ and one says “No, consent was given.” Typically, I’d pick the last one… which is dumb when you know the trick. While consent is a valid defense in Intentional Torts, all elements must be present before defenses are considered. So as a simple Order of Operations concept… the more correct answer is the one that points out an element missing! Today, I covered just a little more Torts, but I plan on knocking out a LOT tomorrow… probably going to do 6 to 9 hours tomorrow. Fingers crossed.

Ah, and as a fun little post-script… Happy Anniversary, in a manner of speaking. 15 years ago today I asked a girl out for the first time. Funny how some things we never forget. But thinking about it… it also reminds me that “Living well is the best revenge”… not because I’m living well, because she is. The woman I asked out on December 17, 1999 has become incredibly successful with her international business; and has recently had her modeling pictures used in billboard ads in downtown Tokyo.


Deleted user December 17, 2014

Whoa! 15 years ago, huh? Today? Very nice memory skillz.

Park Row Fallout Deleted user ⋅ December 18, 2014

Thanks. It comes with the dedication to "not make sitcom mistakes" lol- I made worse, but at least I always remembered anniversaries and birthdays :p

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.