Monday: Upper A, Week 3. in Exerbabble III

  • Dec. 15, 2014, 10:43 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Due to both staying up late and having things to do mid-day on campus, did this around 9pm.


    Monday, 12-15-14
    Cycle I, Week 3: Upper A

    Yesterday's nutrition: Just okay.
    Last night's sleep: stayed up late, but 8 hours

    GYM STUFF:

    DB Press: 5 @ 25 lbs
    5, 5, 7 @ 42.5 lbs (+2.5 lbs)
    Chins: 3 @ BW
    5, 5, 6 @ +25 lbs (+2.5 lbs)

    DB Bench Press: 5 @ 45 lbs
    8, 7, 7 @ 65 lbs
    BB Bent-over Row: 5 @ 90 lbs
    8, 8, 8 @ 135 lbs

    Tricep Pushdown: 10, 10, 10 @ 55 lbs
    EZ-BB Curl: 10, 9, 7 @ 55 lbs (+5 lbs)

    upper stretching

    Crux of workout: 52 minutes

I can not expound enough how much this kicks my ass. The first pairing went swiftly and confidently. But that second pairing is what’s called “easy on paper”. You gotta understand that dumbbell benching eventually becomes a full-body effort. You gotta pick that shit up, set it on your knees, control the weight back with your abs, press the weight, and THEN sit back up. There’s the dropping them on the floor option, but I consider that evidence of not being able to control the weight. Bent-over rows, as well, require considerable dynamic stabilization.

Bluntly, the fact that it’s hard is the reason I want to keep this pairing. struggling and succeeding at controlling weights is what builds strength and stuff. BROSCIENCE.

Felt vaguely pukey by the last pairing. I used to think these kinds of bicep/tricep pairings were lazy, easy, and puny. Not anymore. I’m keeping strength in mind, and trying to improve every session. That means it never gets easier. (I’m already looking forward to backcycling.) I was fucking panting for at least a minute after each set of dumbbell benching, and let myself recover. I’m not really sure how I ended up finishing the whole thing in 52 minutes. Let it be reiterated that if after an hour you still have energy for “extra shit”, you didn’t lift hard enough.


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.