How much of your home do you use? in keeping it postive

  • Dec. 14, 2014, 11:39 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Those of us who do NOT live in a studio apartment may think we need all that space, but do we really? How much is just storage?

In NYC I have a 6 room apartment with a LONG hallway. I spend most of my time in the bedroom and living rooms (bathroom and kitchen of course). The other rooms I go into when I need something stored there - clothing from closets, crafting supplies, gifts, books, items for donation, etc. When I read, I do it in the bedroom. When I use the computer, that’s in the living room.

In CA, I have a two bedroom (one used as an office) apartment. When you walk in, there’s a “great room” - combination living room, dining room - with kitchen along a wall (used to be called a kitchenette back in the day). I walk through it, of course, and use the kitchen (and the coat closet/pantry along the side). If I used the Wii system, that’s located in the living room. But to sit there? to eat at the dining room table - rarely. I do pull books to read from the shelves in the living room, but then read them in the bedroom lying down on the bed. The computer is also in the bedroom, and I spend a LOT of time on the computer.

I have a lot of thinking to do.


woman in the moon December 14, 2014

I don't know what I'd do if I were you. I think I'd 'simplify' but I don't know how I'd do it.

Darcy0207 from OD woman in the moon ⋅ December 14, 2014

I'm working on it. It took years to get to that point, so I don't expect it to be resolved overnight

Silent Echo/Quiet Storm December 15, 2014

let's see.... i use my bedroom, i use the office, i use the bathroom, i use the kitchen, i use the living room, there are two uses for the family room, the dining area has books i read, the guest bedroom has my music and some books. i know i will have to consolidate when i move with angela and kurt sometime in the next 4.5 years. i've already gone thru the house and emotionally 'let go' of a lot of things that i won't be able to take with me. and i've become much more attached to my music, my books, my waterbed, my dressers and my tv. take care,

Darcy0207 from OD Silent Echo/Quiet Storm ⋅ December 15, 2014

I have been in the "letting go" mode lately also. It's a SLOW process!

RosesAreRed December 21, 2014

Can relate..

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.