I've been sick in Days of My Destiny

  • Dec. 8, 2014, 6:07 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

We had 4 storms in a row towards the end of last week. On the first night my girls were scared. There was loud, clapping thunder and it had them worried. I sat with them until they were tired enough to go to sleep (around 10pm). M theatrically sang some songs off Frozen, which was an excellent distraction for her and a special treat! (Because otherwise she sings it 20 times a day, I’m not exaggerating) We also talked about how God is in control of the weather. The third night, M had a Talent Quest at school during the day, so that night she was saying that God was participating in the Talent Quest lol. So we sat outside and watched God’s show, and oohed and ahhed at each lightning strike. We sat out there for about an hour, with the wind in our hair and rain falling near us. We watched the trees sway slowly in the breeze and then dance wildly in the middle of the storm. M decided that God won the Talent Quest, along with two girls who had done some awesome gymnastics/acrobatics moves at school that day, lol. On the fourth night, it wasn’t much of a storm, more so quiet rolling thunder in the distance and a few lightning strikes here and there.

I found it therapeutic to watch it with them, actually, because I’m not usually a fan of storms myself, and a good 85% of the time, we get storms when L is not around and the power cuts out and I have to put on my brave hat and figure out the generator and keep my girls calm, even while I’m feeling on edge.

The downside to watching the storm with them was that I got sick!!! Well actually it’s not a downside from watching the storm, it’s more a downside from not looking after myself properly lately! So anyway I got extremely, ridiculously cold on Saturday night, to the point of wearing a hoodie and socks in bed! L kept saying to me, “…it’s December!!” Lol. I slept all day Sunday. Seriously my sleeping pattern reminded me of the early days with M, when she’d sleep for two hours and then be awake for an hour and then sleep for two hours again and so on!! Lol. That was me!!! By Sunday night I was mostly better again, I just had a sore throat. Yesterday (Monday) I had swollen glands and didn’t feel 100%. My throat was really sore yesterday. Today my glands are still a little bit swollen and I have this heaviness in my head. I called in sick to volunteering today. I’m tiring easily but I think I should be fine for tomorrow.


Last updated December 08, 2014


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.