Sunday, Lower A, Week 2. in Exerbabble III

  • Dec. 7, 2014, 2 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I had this notion that cardio before a leg day would interfere with my workout. I certainly knocked that notion out of the park today. Really makes me wonder just how hard some are thrashing their legs with cardio that it effects their squats and stuff the day after. It’s overstating the obvious, but I keep my cardio aerobic. Lifting is, by its very nature, anaerobic. Need I elaborate?

I just avoid HIIT the day before, because it’s anaerobic. I digress.


    Cycle I, Week 2: Lower A

    Semi-Daily Pull-ups and Push-ups
    Neutral-Grip Pull-ups: 12 @ BW
    Push-ups: 24 @ BW

    Yesterday's nutrition: Perfect.
    Last night's sleep: Perfect.

    GYM STUFF:

    foam rolling

    Squats:
    5 @ 45, 95 lbs, 4 @ 135 lbs, 3 @ 165 lbs
    3x5 @ 185 lbs (+5 lbs)

    Deadlifts:
    3 @ 135, 185 lbs, 2 @ 225 lbs, 1 @ 265 lbs
    3x3 @ 285 lbs (+10 lbs)
    5 @ 225 lbs
    15 @ 135 lbs

    Farmer's Walks:
    1x @ 40 lbs
    2x @ 30 lbs

    One-Leg Bridge: 3x15sec (+3 seconds)
    Plank: 3x35sec (+5 seconds)

    lower stretching

Today’s squats actually felt stronger than my previous workout’s. So long as I perform my warm-ups “like” my work sets, I’m set. Zero grinding out of the hole. +1 to confidence. 45 pounds to go to match previous best!

In the future, I’ll be doing 5 pound jumps for deadlifts, so I keep saying. But I’ve done 285 lbs for stuff like this before, and the intracycle ramp is just a formality to get myself in a groove. My pulls felt significantly better than last week. At worse, my grip felt like it was giving out on the second set. I reset my grip between the second and third rep, as my right hand felt like it might give out. Trusted myself not to let the bar slip and fuck my back up, and pulled that shit. Third set felt fine. When I do an alternating grip, I switch which hand is underhand/overhand each set. Left supinated, right pronated is usually my favored grip. That second set was left pronated, right supinated.

I want to read up on just how far to walk for farmer’s walks. As well, whether it’s kosher to set the dumbbells down for just a couple seconds to shake out the lactic acid when you hit your end point and begin your return trip to your starting point. 40’s aren’t “heavy”, or so I thought. But boy were my forearms on FIRE by the end of each trip. Broscience says this is the best for grip strength, so I’ll try it.

(Still am going to hit my hand grippers a bit tonight.)

So psyched for making chicken parm tonight.


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.