The table next to me. in 1st

  • Dec. 2, 2014, 11:48 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

He was here having a couple beers waiting for someone.

She wrote him a letter. When she came in she gave it to him. She said you can read it now or later I don’t care. She made small talk, then excused herself to the restroom.

It was killing him, he took the moment to read the letter.

The letter was full of a heart felt apology that she seems to think would solve whatever issue they were facing.

“Please say something”

“Hallmark letters don’t fix anything. I was excited to meet up with you tonight and talk about this then you were 2 hours later then you said you would be”

“Things will be different, I feel differently then I did then”

“How can I believe that?”

The falling apart happened long before this conversation. The people around them look when they raise their voices to each other slightly both trying to be heard. As is the level of the voice would determine weather or not the other is actually listening.

What do you do at this point?

They came to a conclusion of friendship with possible more over time but current situations have to change.

“You can’t get something if you aren’t willing to work on the same level”

She will give up her current “thing” for another shot with him. “Maybe one day you’ll let me back in”

“We will have to wait and see”

Don’t want to end it, but don’t want to leave. This may be the only chance she has. She messed up and she knows it.

She starts feeling like a caged rat. He’s strapping on the leg cuffs, the ball and chain, with no strings for himself. “I think I could use some fresh air”

“It’s time I get home anyway”

After hours of trying to talk they leave, more complicated than when they came in.

Just a girl who made a mistake and a guy who was hurt.


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.