Tuesday, Vertical Day. in Exerbabble III

  • Dec. 3, 2014, 7:37 a.m.
  • |
  • Public


    Cycle I, Week I: Vertical Day

    Yesterday's nutrition: Spot-on (couple cookies aside yumyum)
    Last night's sleep: fantastic

    GYM STUFF:

    light foam rolling

    DB Press: 5 @ 25 lbs
    5, 5, 8 @ 37.5 lbs
    Chins: 3 @ BW
    5, 5, 6 @ +20 lbs

    DB Bench Press: 5 @ 40 lbs
    8, 8, 9 @ 60 lbs
    BB Bent-over Row: 5 @ 80 lbs
    8, 8, 7 @ 135 lbs

    Tricep Pushdown: 10, 10, 12 @ 49 lbs
    BB Curl: 10, 10, 12 @ 45 lbs

    Wide-Grip Lat Pulldown: 12, 11 @ 99 lbs

    upper stretching

    Crux of workout: 52 minutes

I wonder whether my nutrition yesterday was too spot-on. I felt majorly tired during this workout. Or perhaps that’s because I slept so much. Perhaps a bowl of rice somewhere would have helped, hard to say. My periworkout nutrition today was my usual. Oatmeal for breakfast, whey just before leaving, milk immediately after, and a banana when I get to the car. So, not worried about that. Regardless, I hit all my lifts, I just felt weak doing it. Or perhaps it’s because the first pairing is hard work. : ) Ronnie Coleman once said, “Everybody wants to be strong, but nobody wants to lift no big ass weights.” Or something like that.

Mid-back slightly sore from yesterday. Fancy that. Adducters slightly tender during foam rolling, as they tend to be after leg stuff.

Wasn’t necessarily going for As Many Reps As Possible. Just acknowledged I could do a couple more, so I did. I’m thanking myself for not doing a third compound pairing, I wouldn’t have been able to put enough effort into it. As well, I’ve never actually tried to get stronger at isolation work, been so caught up in movement mentality. Oh, and for the sake of saying so, I’m loading an ez-bar curl bar for curls (and rows). The semi-supinated grip indeed feels more friendly on the wrists. As well, I can increment 5 lbs at a time.

And kind of glad my gym has odd incremented dumbbells. What kind of gym has 52.5 lb dumbbells? Don’t care, I’ll need that microloading as I progress. I decided against barbell presses, because dumbbells will be more friendly on the shoulders. And, to a lesser degree, friendly on the lower back.


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.