Nojomo 30. The utopia edition. in Nojomo 2014

  • Nov. 30, 2014, 2:05 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

My perfect world.

We had a toddler, hard back book. It was the song of the five little men in a flying saucer. For those of you don’t know the song…

http://m.youtube.com/watch?v=2E3p_51tJx0

In our book, the pictures on each page, as the aliens decide they didn’t like the sight, show various ecological issues e.g.oil slicks and rubbish tips. At the end of the book it shows that the aliens who flew away were actually going to clean the affected areas and the last page has a picture of my utopia. One in which people live in harmony. They smile together, accept each other. They live cleanly, not using pollutants as part of every day life and everyone is happy.

I sometimes wish that I could find another planet to live on with my family, where there wasn’t greed or selfishness. Of course, that goes against human nature. We naturally want to have bigger, better, faster, more. Just watching the t.v. footage of the black Friday sales demonstrates that, when looting takes place under the guise of protest. The morals that we should be brought up with - all based around respect for our fellow man - are created by humanity but are not necessarily human traits. We know that these behaviours are wrong because this is what we have been taught, but without those teachings our base instinct is to grab all we can to benefit ourselves and our family group.

Therefore, I know that my utopia cannot exist for our humanity but sometimes it’s just nice to close my eyes and imagine it.


Last updated November 30, 2014


Deleted user November 30, 2014

I know, it's so sad. :( I too wish I could escape with my favourite people to a place where no evil exists. I can't imagine what it must be like as a parent.

I do disagree with you on one thing. I don't think our 'moral code' is created by humanity - I believe it was part of God's design. In fact, Jesus teachings shocked the people of that day; and who can improve on his moral teachings... nobody has in thousands of years. Love your enemy? Shocking! Of course, I don't think one needs to believe in God in order to be moral; in fact many 'believers' live immoral, unloving lives. But I do think that our moral code exists because God exists. Just my thoughts. Would be a great discussion! :)

ermentrude Deleted user ⋅ November 30, 2014

Actually we agree and disagree, I agree that the moral code exists because off the bible, but the bible had been written, re written, translated and edited so many times that I do not believe that it is the true weird of God, but humanity's translation and own sway on the original lessons taught by Jesus.

Although, I was brought up specifically with the New Testament and not the Old Testament therefore I cannot comment on anything earlier than Jesus. X

thesunnyabyss November 30, 2014

I'd move to your planet :)

have a happy Sunday!!

Deleted user November 30, 2014

Oh, and I wish we had 5 little men cleaning for real the mess that our planet is!

Deleted user December 02, 2014

That song is something my ex-husband would have sung in a guard shack in the Army. He once went over 100 verses of "I'm Henry VII, I Am" before someone came out to the shack and threatened to give him a dishonorable discharge if he didn't shut up. :-D

The Tranquil Loon December 02, 2014

Every time I wonder at why I am shocked by something, someone out does that. It just goes on and on and makes one wonder if it will end.

Deleted user December 05, 2014

I think the reason I love animals so much is because they do not have human behaviors :-)So many humans are cruel, greedy, destructive, aggressive, selfish, etc... It's disheartening. I much prefer to be out immersed in Nature than at parties or in groups of people I don't love. We ignore the destruction we are committing on this planet at our own peril. We are creating our own extinction because of greed and ignorance:-( I am sad but kind of relieved I do not have any grandchildren , because I am afraid what that generation will have to live with ...if only we did have a Utopian planet to escape to !

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.