Thanksgiving in Book One: The Not So Daily Briefs 2014

  • Nov. 27, 2014, 11:26 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

This Thanksgiving, I am eating Pizza Rolls, Swiss Rolls, Oatmeal Cream Pies, and Popcorn chicken. I am drinking soda, whiskey, rum, wine, and Gatorade. I am spending the evening with my playstation 4, my laptop, and my cell phone. Then I look back in my past and the whole thing becomes a metaphor.

So… I told you about my NOW Thanksgiving. It is very different from Thanksgiving 2011. 2011 was my first Thanksgiving as a married man, my first Thanksgiving living in Nebraska, and Nancy and my first Thanksgiving living somewhere so far away from family. That Thanksgiving is ineffably different from this one.

alt text
Nancy cooked up QUITE the dinner (and allowed me to help her out whilst cooking)

alt text
I got to be The Man of The House and cut the turkey… seriously… this was a huge moment for me.

alt text
We kept up the Family Tradition of watching at least one James Bond movie during a Holiday Gathering.

alt text
Despite a big day of cooking and having no actual dinner table- we still made it all work!

alt text
All-in-All, Thanksgiving 2011 had some GOOD FOOD!

alt text
We even set up our miniature plastic Christmas Tree and decorated it after Thanksgiving Dinner. Oh, did you notice the tree topper?

But… that was 2011. That was only 5 months after Nancy and I got married. Only 4 months after we moved to Nebraska. And only 3 months after Nancy started her job. Now? We’ve been married for 3 years and 5 months; we’ve lived in Nebraska for 3 years and 4 months; Nancy has been working at a Wal-Mart she hates for 3 years and 3 months. And our Thanksgiving is spent with her working until 11pm; no family time; and no food or traditions.


Deleted user November 28, 2014

Wow! You guys look so happy in those pictars! I'm sorry she has to work, and that you two are alone in Nebraska. I definitely know what that feels like, and it can be rough and sad! But, you know what? At least you still have each other, and at least you have some rum! Happy Thanksgiving, friend! I'm thankful I found you on this site!

Fawkes Gal December 01, 2014

hugs Here's hoping there will be more Thanksgiving joy in the future.

I really REALLY want an oatmeal cream pie now.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.