rain city in 2014

Revised: 11/26/2014 12:10 a.m.

  • Oct. 8, 2014, 3 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

10:13pm

Why is it that whenever I feel like writing, I can’t think of anything important to say? And whenever I have important things to say, I don’t feel like writing? sigh

I’m in Seattle. Or across the water from it if you want to get technical. :)

The flight in last Saturday was nice. Hardly anyone in the airport and I was there almost two hours early. Better late than missing another plane. Boy did I learn that lesson the hard way. hah. Once I made it through security I went to find my gate and sat in a seat listening to music. Good thing I was paying attention [while also enjoying the fun people-watching that airports offer] because they changed my gate with about a half hour to go. I had seen the same sign change to what I thought was “Bismark” but I was too far away to really tell and couldn’t see any other signs. I decided that I’d get up about 2 o’clock and walk by the monitors to double check what was going on. About five minutes before 2 I heard the lady come over the loud speaker to announce the change. I wandered to the bathroom and then back by a monitor to make sure I ended up in the right place and lucky for me it was only like two gates over from where I was. 22 to 20 isn’t really that far of a walk so I ended up walking around and eventually going back to the restroom to wash my hands. That germ thing in airports is always an issue for me. yuck

The plane was only about half-full. Most of the middle seats were open and some people were sitting only one to a row. I got a lady on the aisle seat who smiled at me once. That was fine by me. There had been a guy in line next to me, before boarding, who was quite the chatty kathy. He told me all about how he was visiting his brother and they were going to go backpacking. He even gave me the address where he was going when he was rambling on about public transit and getting there. I mentioned visiting my brother for his birthday and he mentioned his brother’s age, and his son’s, and how his granddaughter was going to her homecoming dance. hah. So much info for like the five minutes we were standing around to get on the plane. Maybe less than five. I almost thought he was going to sit next to me and started trying to prep myself for the two hour trip of talking. But some time between when we got on the plane and when I ended up in row 19 to grab a seat, he disappeared. I assume he just picked a seat somewhere instead of waiting in line to move back. Whereas, I always wait in line and head towards the back. Worked out ok though. I’d feel bad that I’m horrible at coming up with questions and/or making small talk so he would have been bored.

My brother met me at the airport. He was actually parked right outside the exact door I chose to walk out of. :-) Getting the luggage had been so easy. Like I walked up right as my bag was passing, but couldn’t shove anyone out of the way fast enough to retrieve it. hah. I had to wait for the other bag anyway so it wasn’t that long of a wait. Very efficient work they were doing that day!

We ended up going to Red Lobster that night for dinner. Met up with that family that he hangs out with. The little girl, K, came running up to me as we sat outside. She hugged me and jumped right into my lap. Spent the rest of the night cuddling next to me on the bench seat, holding my hand, and getting really close to my face. ha. That always throws me off. Mostly because I’m not used to people, in general, being that close to me and it’s hard to tell a 5 year old to step off and give me some space. ;) It’s ok though. I survived.

I spent the other part of the night trying to convince her little brother to give me a high five. He’s always super cautious when he first sees me. It’s funny because they’ll be talking about me before I come into town [apparently they’ve nicknamed me “Rosie”] but he’s still too young to really remember my face and make the connection. I even tried reminding him of playing trains in his room when I was up in June, but it was a no go. Oh well. I’ll convince him right before I leave…and then probably never see him again. :-|

It’ll be sad to leave all these people behind. Even if they are just my brother’s friends.

We actually got to see Marie that night too. We’d gone to the store to pick up some headphones and took them over to their place. She popped out from behind the door and gave me a huge hug. Then I got to meet the baby and hold him for a while. You know, up until the part where he spit up on my shirt. yay! =\ Of course it happened right after the towel fell off my shoulder too. Welcome to the family they said. Must have liked me enough. Felt comfortable enough to spill his guts on our first meeting. haha.

The next day was spent at the house watching Ryan work from home. That’s always interesting. Plus we went out for endless pasta with his superior and his partner. That was a fun time. I like them. They make me laugh and teach me all kinds of smart things [like ordering a small plate first so you can try a lot of different pasta without getting so full. hehe].

Monday: Ryan went into work and Marie had the day off so she picked me up around 1. We had lunch and headed back to her place for margaritas. She made me walk with her to pick up the kid from school, which was exhausting. Ok, really it’s only a couple blocks but it was uphill and then downhill and carrying baby strollers up/down stairs. Not an easy task after a couple shots of tequila. hah. We made it ok, but that was my exercise for the week, especially because it had some how gotten really hot outside and I was wearing long sleeves.

I didn’t end up leaving their place until like 10 o’clock. J had finally gotten home from watching the game and Marie brought me back. I felt bad asking for a ride before that because I didn’t want her to have to pack up the kids. They have a routine with bedtime and all that and it seemed a bit inconsiderate when I really didn’t have anywhere to be.

It was nice being able to reconnect with her. She’s fun and we don’t always have too much to say to each other, but some how we come up with a bunch of random junk to discuss. I told her that I wanted to relive every moment we’ve had together. Like the bar/margarita tradition and the weird videos while we drink at her place. All our best moments recreated in the next week and half, because who knows when [or if] I’ll ever get back here. [But she says I’m not allowed to mention that last part…]

Yesterday and today: Ryan worked from home. We tried a different Mexican restaurant last night that wasn’t half bad. Today was pizza. [Yeah. He doesn’t cook at all here. That should change once he moves into his own place. I hope]

I’ve been catching up on all things. Luckily I brought the laptop with me this time so I can be on here while he’s working and don’t have to take turns. It’s easier to occupy my time. So I’ve been reading a ton of articles and watching videos. Listening to plenty of music. All that good stuff.

I am glad I’m recapping the last few days right now. It’ll be so much easier than waiting until I get home. Things never seem to get done when I save them all until the end. So maybe now I’ll have some kind of record of the trip. Unlike Vegas [x2], and Seattle in June, and the 10 day road trip across 10 states that haven’t really been mentioned. I’ll try to be better at it from now on. hah.

“Burnin’ it Down” has been on repeat for like the last hour. I don’t know what it is about this song. Of course now it reminds me of late night drives alone on the open road, but that’s a story for another day.

rose.
11:02pm


Last updated November 26, 2014


caramelchicken November 26, 2014

Ahh the joys of small talk with a stranger especially on planes! I'm a lot better with that these days but I'd still rather sleep or music my way through a plane trip. It's tiring enough travelling without having to be engaged in conversation! Anyway sounds like you had a really good time and random conversations are the best:)

+.:hidden-feelings:. caramelchicken ⋅ November 30, 2014

I'm getting better at it too. But sometimes people are really into the small talk and I don't know what to say in return. I'd rather get into the deep life topics. ;)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.