NoJoMo 23 in NoJoMo 2014

  • Nov. 23, 2014, 6:51 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Last weekend before the short week. For fellow U-S Americans, this is essentially a three-day week. Do you have any big plans for the remainder of week before tryphtophan poisoning?

As I recycled old memes in the prompt… (http://knowyourmeme.com/memes/miss-teen-usa-south-carolina)

No, I’m not going to South Carolina, though I do have family there, and have been a few times.

So, what have I done this weekend? Pretty much exactly what I said I was going to do.

The next three days, I will try to continue doing the work I’ve been doing. I’m hoping for some clarity about what’s going on; big changes are afoot. I don’t think a lot of people understand them.

The bottom line is I’m still the FNG. The entrenched staff still haven’t wrapped their heads around how things are going to change. “It’s a customer requirement!!1!” Okay, who signed off on it. “Just do it.” To quote one of my wife’s songs, “fuck you very very much.”

To put it succinctly, I know different ways to do the things you want to do, but I can’t do it within the ball of dysfunction you’ve given me to work in. Yes, Agent Fleming, I know I shouldn’t end a sentence in a preposition.

In short, I’m really at my breaking point, don’t undestand what’s taking so long for something else, and am unwilling to do anything untoward — to GTFO of my current situation, or to make people happy by doing what I know, and can show, is wrong.

Maybe I’m a sucker.


unimportant November 23, 2014

I think people who don't know enough about what they're doing are reluctant to change anything because they're afraid they'll be wrong, and they feel like it's safer to keep on doing what somebody previously said is ok.

^H unimportant ⋅ November 23, 2014

It's partially a product of the industry. Unfortunately, there's so much legacy stuff here, and nobody really knows how or why it works. Or what it's supposed to do. Or what the users actually need to do their jobs. Asking, then figuring out the answers to those questions is lots of technical work they're ill-equipped to do. I don't know; it's just time for me to GTFO.......

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.