Base Style/Mesocycle. in Exerbabble III

  • Nov. 20, 2014, 9:21 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

It’s really quite simple.

Primary Heavy Work (followed by)
Alternate Assistance/Dynamic Work (followed by)
Moderate Rep flusher/finisher
(optional: accessory shit)

I want to grind 3x5 or 5x5 into the ground, and then tweak through the year to keep going. Whether it’s progressing from 3x5 to 3x7, or eventually adding weekly cycles like 5/3/1-style, I think it’s important to keep the same primary exercise.

I KNOW I get ADD and do fancy shit. I know this. That’s what assistance work is for. Sets of 8 are convenient because they’re something comfortable to cycle back into.

I am going to hit a wall.

I am going to grind.

But I need to remind myself right now that a lot of the times, it’s just me feeling burned out, and usually my lifts aren’t backsliding. Only on starting strength did my squats backslide. Oh man, that was frustrating. I don’t recall my bench hitting any specific wall.

If I need to, I’ll split squats and deadlifts into their own days, with alternate assistance stuff. But. To start, I think I need the squatting frequency.

God, I’m obsessed with this. Excited, yet at the same time scared I’ll fall flat on my face. I’ve been spinning my wheels for three years. It’s been that long since I’ve gotten stronger. The Year of Strength. How pretentious. But. I can do this.


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.