F'in COLD in Everything

  • Nov. 19, 2014, 5:20 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

So I took today off from work to take my mom to a follow up appointment with her eye doctor. Yesterday her doctor scraped calcium deposits off her eyeball, which is as painful as it sounds. Today was the follow up. Her appointment was in Boston. We decided to take the commuter rail in because from her house to the train station is about a 7 minute walk (going at 80 year old lady with a cane speed). And from North Station to her doctors office is about 15 minutes (going at 80 year old woman with a cane speed). when we left the house at 8:00 the thermometer read 18 degrees Fahrenheit. 7 minutes later at the train station (outdoor platform) it felt more like Kelvin. The might be attributed to the 30+ miles an hour headwind.
When the train got there I couldn’t believe that there was a good 2 feet difference between the platform and the stair for the train. Not a huge issue for most but I have an 80 year old, somewhat feeble, lady, with a cane that I have to hoist onto this train without hurting her or others in the process. No easy task. Seriously would it kill their budget to invest a few bucks in a step stool? We managed and got into North Station without incident, where the platform is actually level with the train, novel idea.
When we exited North station I thought my nose was going to fall right off my face, and judging from the wind I might not have been able to catch it. We walked, against the wind, to the appointment, which lasted 10 minutes. 10 minutes. I suppose that means everything went well and all but seriously, 10 minutes. I didn’t even get a chance to thaw out. The walk back was much better because it had warmed up, by like 1 degree.

I know I live in New England and 18 degrees isn’t that bad, it gets much colder, but this wasn’t pleasant. I think the older I get the less ability I have to deal with this cold ass shit. Oh and I’m going to the Pat’s game Sunday, hope it gets a little more mild.


Gurly239 November 20, 2014

I feel you about the cold. It's only November and I'm already fed up with it. What am I going to do for the next 5 months?! Maybe spring will come extra early?

Deleted user November 21, 2014

Hi, wandered over to read you :P It is weird to see life from an elderly view, in our parents eyes...it's hard too because we know that this is what we can look forward to in our old age in the future :/ Good for you that you are a good son! following

donut November 22, 2014

Any colder and I'd say to take a taxi!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.