Expectation v Reality in Book One: The Not So Daily Briefs 2014

  • Nov. 19, 2014, 9:25 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

When I was growing up, I spent a large amount of my time with female friends. There are any number of reasons why most of my friends were female; but I swore I would listen to all of them to learn what it would take to one day be the perfect husband. Obviously, every woman wants something different but I presumed that there would be things that overlapped. For instance; some women want to be held when they cry, some women want to be left alone when they cry, some women want someone to just sit with when they cry. BUT almost all of my female friends wanted their boyfriends to care when they cried… ask them how they were, what was wrong… that kind of thing. So… for almost two decades, I developed a list of traits and behaviors that I felt would make me the perfect husband and father one day. Of course… the irony is… I married a woman that was entirely different from all of the women I had known previously.

Here’s an example:
I used to be a terribly light sleeper… especially before my medication… but I’d not let it bother me too much because I’d try to figure out how it could be a positive. For instance… if I was a light sleeper and my wife wasn’t… I’d be able to hear the baby in the middle of the night and take care of it.... so I could be that guy that gets up with the baby instead of being the husband that “doesn’t do enough.” Or… the one I really liked… I used to think— Adults have nightmares, too. Most of the women I know get really emotionally upset when they have a nightmare or something like that; so I figured that being a light sleeper would be awesome because when my wife has a nightmare, I can be there to hold her and comfort her and be a shoulder to cry on.

Fast Forward to actual reality....
Early this morning, I was awake. I don’t know why exactly, but I had just awakened- my wife still sleeping beside me- and I was trying to consider whether I should try to go back to sleep or not. Suddenly- BAM! My wife shot up in bed and started flailing. She’d had a terrible nightmare involving insects on her and under her skin… really icky stuff. But… uhm… yeah. No crying, no comforting, no holding… she just… had that experience; went through it; and went back to bed.

It isn’t an annoyance or even a peculiarity… but it certainly triggered all of this in my mind. That… I did have all of these expectations for what married life would be like… and what it actually is like is nowhere close to what I expected… so, yeah… it has only been 3 years; but I’m still sorting out the difference between expectation and reality.... and when/if expectation should be met or reality accepted.


Deleted user November 19, 2014

Aw, I have always hung out with guys who tended to be of the one guy in a group of girls. They have always been super sweet. Like there's just something softer, more reserved, or just more sensitive and perceptive about them.

Fawkes Gal November 24, 2014

I find it interesting to see that your life seems to have been very much constructed around a foundation of men filling a particular role while women fill another. I'm probably noticing things like this more and more due to my own struggles with gender and identity. The whole notion of the woman crying, and the man being there to hold her afterwards is something that we're fed from such a young age. I'd be curious of how much of you wanting to fill that role of being "the comforter" is really coming from who YOU want to be, and who you think society wants you to be. I've been doing a lot of thinking on this myself, how much of me is me really being who I want to be, and how much of it is me trying to be who I think I'm expected to be?

Does that make any sense at all? It makes sense in my head, but trying to type it out in a way that makes sense is proving more difficult.

Park Row Fallout Fawkes Gal ⋅ November 25, 2014

Great questions! It is probably a mix of a bunch of things. Primarily- I am extremely easily socialized. I would have made a great military man had I the body or psych-stability for it. I think the other part of it is my very intact White Knight Complex. I've always wanted to be a hero... save the day, comfort the people in distress... make the world a better place... whether one at a time or not.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.