Thanksgiving plans so far in 1st

  • Nov. 18, 2014, 3:11 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I’m tired. Still got up at 4:30… rolled around till 5 and got up, got a shower… played on my ipad… read a few pages… started ripping a CD and realize it’s by an artist I hadn’t heard of so… yeah not sure why I got it except that it looks like tough cookie country female.. and was only .25 when I bought it. LOL… so anyways this requires a listen… because I have to pick songs (or none) for my Zune list that is ever expanding. … brushed my hair… everyday it’s a project that just seems longer (haha). Because it’s not a labor of LOVE unlike the adding of tunes to my collection. Still, it’s pretty and I can’t imagine me with SHORT hair. … but sometimes.... ugh

Mom sent me a text last night on my drive home. Honestly wish she would have called, would have been much easier but there was a slow driver in front of me so it really wasn’t that big a deal.... tad background… mom has two ladies living with her right now. With the sudden life changes of Alicen and Joshua being moved out she’s been very lonely so she moved in 2 good girlfriends… I like them both to some extent… neither like my father lol.... In fact they have both stated that if my dad shows up to Thanksgiving dinner they don’t want to be there. That’s not a problem… no one wants him there....

Last year my mother had some project she needed help with after dinner. There has always been something to do after dinner/dishes.... games when I was younger, drawing names for Christmas gift giving, wrapping gifts… what have you. Last year mom needed to make some name tags for a Christmas party, it being a large party she thought it would be best to do it while she had a few extra pairs of hands. Seemed like a fun project for us to all sit down to… making colored paper snowmen, trees, ornaments, decorating them with colored glue and glitter. Just a few moments in we are laughing cutting up and dad says “I might as well do it right here” .... us puzzled someone says “what?” and he goes on about cutting himself with the scissors. Mom snatches them… there is a few moments of drama… dad says he thought it was funny, a joke even. WTF!? and so this is why we really don’t want him ruining Thanksgiving… again…

on to the texts… or back to the texts whatever....

Mom: Should we allow Alicen to bring her boyfriend to Thanksgiving?

Me: It would give us an opportunity to meet him. (remember they have been dating for what a month max now)

Mom: I think that it should be just Allie. We will have other people here as well. Shirley (lady 1 living with her), her kids, Joan (lady 2), you kids (referring to Rocky, Scott, Alicen and me) plus me. Joan will be working during the day as well.

Me: It’s your house your call mom.

Mom: I would just like to have a good Thanksgiving without fighting. I will not be asking your dad to dinner. We will eat late before Rocky goes to work. Joan will be working during the day as well.

Me: Rocky will be working 4-1 how late for Joan?

(shortened here… unimportant scheduling, big meal at 2 all good will be sure Joan has plenty and all those kinds of junks unimportant to the point. I do however want to say it sucks that mom can have her friends and Alicen can’t.... but… moms party like I said to her and I would never take a guy I’ve only known a month to my moms for dinner..also can I pick her up… yeah thought it would be like that so Rocky and I will take separate vehicles and he will leave from moms for work anyways so.... carry on)

Mom: Shirley was thinking her and her family might not be here if Alicen comes to dinner. This sucks. I would like friends and family.....(moments later).... My situation now stands, if I have Alicen here four people will not be here. This sucks. I am being made to choose a daughter who disrespects me or my friends and a good Thanksgiving. (This sounds like she’s made her choice but because she’s designated me to pick Alicen up it also sounds like I will be there one to have to tell Alicen that mom doesn’t want her there either)....

Me: I’m sorry mom. You could just cancel all together. It’s your choice mom. I think it’s pretty shitty for anyone to tell you who to have and who not to. Invite who you want.

Mom: I’m thinking about it.

Me: No hurt feelings here if you decide to cancel. I’ll get run out and get a turkey loaf. LOL

Mom: Breast is better.

Me: either way I can fix it for Rocky After work it would be no big thing on my end mom. We love each other everyday. Dinners are nice but we’ve had enough drama this year to last for ages.

Mom: I sometimes wonder if people really knew how I felt, you kids know me well but others see what they want to see. I was trying to fill a day that will be hard to get through.

I didn’t respond, I understand not having Joshua… this whole situation.... I know she’s done her best to busy herself to keep from dwelling on all the bad things. At this point I honestly hope she just throws her hands up and cancels the whole thing. Then Shirley, Joan and mom along with Shirley’s kids can have a Thanksgiving there..... I can’t see myself participating in half a family Thanksgiving. Not that I’m saying that I wouldn’t go if Alicen wasn’t invited. More like I wouldn’t want to deal with the idea that this person (Shirley sitting across from me eating) can easily dictate who mom has at dinner. I would go however because I will not be the reason mom has a shitty holiday.

Court tomorrow, hopefully none show to convict her and it will be thrown out.... then we can proceed.


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.