Long and Rambling in Book One: The Not So Daily Briefs 2014

  • Nov. 17, 2014, 3:10 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

With my insomnia this week, and my wife’s pension for leaving the television on as she goes to sleep… I’ve caught quite a few early morning Pokémon episodes this week. Never before had I watched “Pokémon XY” before. I have no logical basis for this and no idea why I thought this… but as soon as the character “SERENA” showed up on screen, I thought “She reminds me so much of Elizabeth!”
alt text

LACK OF TRANSITION
So, last night when I finally did get to sleep… I had yet another dream about the extended family!! I am wondering if I am having all of these dreams about family because I (1) miss them; (2) it is Thanksgiving time; (3) but I know I won’t see any of them because we can’t leave the area due to stupid shitty old Wal Mart. Anyway… in the dream, we were all staying in one giant vacation cabin that didn’t have nearly enough beds for everyone. So my brother, his wife, their daughter, and my wife and I all had to share one bedroom. It was a big room, so it wasn’t an issue… but only one bed. We let my brother and his wife stay in the bed, Baby J had her crib, so my wife and I just unrolled a Japanese Mattress on the floor- no worries. The great thing (and the focus of the dream) was that my wife and I had two Fur Babies. One- a very loving Hamster that liked playing in my wife’s hand (and peed on her a few times) and another was an ADORABLE LITTLE BROWN FUZZY DOG PUPPY WHO WAS SO TINY. He was so happy to be with family and get loved on! He demanded to sleep in between the wife and I and would nuzzle his way in between us and just plop down, looking at us like “either pet me or lets go to sleep!” :)

NO TRANSITION
Something strange and unfortunate has been happening lately. Last night, not surprisingly, the wife came home late (working retail around the holidays that is a common occurrence). She was hungry so she made something for herself and the smell definitely stirred me. Realized I was a bit hungry, too, so I made some chicken bites for myself… then returned back to my legal work. Next time I looked at the plate to grab some chicken… all of them but 1 were gone. The wife had eaten all of my chicken. It wouldn’t even be an issue normally, so I just ignored it. But it happened again. This afternoon, to finish off the chicken bites, I made two plates; one for her, one for me. But again, apparently, I was either not eating them fast enough or not paying enough attention because- both plates, all of them gone but 1.

Another irritation…
Here’s a tip for women who go shopping with their husbands… limit that shit to less than 2 hours. We went to half priced bookstore today… we live very close, so we walked, but it has been snowing so we bundled up for the walk. My wife turned in some VHS movies because she wants us to completely get rid of our “obsolete media”… makes me sad because now we don’t have even a VHS copy of “Legend” or “Top Gun” or “The Indiana Jones” movies. We only got a dollar for all of it anyway. THAT process was quickly, almost instant. Then we wanted to look for some books for gifts. THAT process was painful and agonizing. I had enough time to check every section of the store for gifts, then I read a few books in the Pop Psych section.. looked through a few in Metaphysics/Religion… read a book on Celtic Folklore… and my wife was still pretty much looking at every book, individually, trying to figure out if it would be a good gift or if it would be one she wanted. An hour and a half of that(!) That plus being bundled up… NOT cool to just be waiting, watching someone slowly and painfully try to go through every book. Painful.

So… I started thinking about how different life would be were I of a single-status mind. Not in an “I’m going to get divorced” but in… I guess kind of a writer/actor concept… try to understand the world from a different perspective. I would not survive this world were I single today. I don’t understand how any of it works, or how to do anything personally… the whole thing just… confounds me.

EDIT Oh crap… I wrote a big ol’ long thing here about religion and philosophy and a wonderful intelligent conversation my wife and I had been having this evening and… a few misplaced key strokes and it is all gone. Damnit. I guess that means this entry closes earlier than anticipated.


Fawkes Gal November 17, 2014

Ok the chicken bites thing? So not cool. I mean, I know I can only go from what I read here, but your wife seems like such a self-centered, selfish... pardon my french... asshole. I mean you get up and make yourself something, and she eats all but ONE piece, without even saying anything? Without even a, "Oh do you mind if I have this?" I mean... that level of rudeness just boggles my mind, it really does. Has she always been like that? Just taking things that are yours without a care in the world? It just strikes me as so mean and self-centered. I am seething with anger for you about this, because no decent human-being should treat anyone like that, never-mind their spouse!

Deleted user November 17, 2014

You mean you wouldn't understand the world as a single man because you've been married for so long/in relationships for so long? I can kind of get that. I was single for about a DAY before I got into another long term relationship. Well, obviously that's an exaggeration, but I seem to be either (A) uninterested in humanity completely or (B) a serial monogamist.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.