In the Cold November Rain in Book One: The Not So Daily Briefs 2014

  • Nov. 6, 2014, 3:32 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Today’s NoJoMo sounds like a trap. Like… “If I were a fresh intern at the NSA, and really wanted to impress my bosses; here’s what I’d do” kind of trap. “What is the biggest lie you’ve ever told?” I suppose that could be cleansing to get it off your chest but… as a public journal thing? Sounds risky. Of course, I’m not even sure if I could answer were I inclined to do so. I mean… I was an actor, I have a degree in Religion, and my Juris Doctor in Law. My whole life has, in one way or another, revolved around lying or story telling or theorizing or hypothesizing or fabricating or misrepresenting.... I couldn’t tell you what the biggest lie was because I honestly don’t know!

In other news.... I am either very clever or very stupid. Some background:
1) Last time I studied for the Bar Exam was during the 30 month period where my wife refused any sexual contact with me. The state of our marriage was, admittedly, very distracting for me.
2) One of the reasons my wife is constantly so unhappy, besides the job she hates, is that she really doesn’t want to live in Nebraska. REALLY doesn’t want to live in Nebraska. Almost our entire family live in Iowa and most of them are in Central or Eastern Iowa… not close to Nebraska.
3) Ever since I discovered that I failed the bar; I have allowed my facial hair to grow. My facial hair is… strange. Like… honestly, I can only grow a goatee… and a fairly Hipster one at that. Lately, the wife has been very ANTI my facial hair. She really wants it to go away.

Keeping all of that in mind, I proposed an idea to my wife last night. When my new study materials arrive- it is Bar Exam Go Time. In short; if my wife really wants to leave Nebraska, I need to pass the bar exam. This we already knew and already agreed upon. I really need to pass the bar exam anyway. This we already knew and already agreed upon. Therefore… I informed her that… when my books come, I would shave my face and be in a much better position to study if I could not have to worry about our relationship. One step towards that would be sex every two weeks. She agreed. I’ll be honest, I don’t have ridiculously high hopes… but I do still have hopes. I mean, I really do need to pass this test and not worrying about my marriage will help me do that. My wife really does want to leave Nebraska, and me passing this test will help us do that. Plus… I secretly hope… sort of “forcing her” to have sex more often will (a) help her over some of her esteem stuff… to know that her husband does find her attractive; (b) help her want to have sex more without ulterior motives… that maybe once it becomes a regular part of life she’ll want to keep it that way; (c) at least help our relationship to grow to the point where there is better communication and/or more quality time.


Fawkes Gal November 06, 2014

Oy. I'd be leery of this. Never use sex as a bargaining chip. I fear it's just going to breed resentment on both of your parts.

Park Row Fallout Fawkes Gal ⋅ November 06, 2014

Honestly- yeah. I remember before getting married my wife and I had dozens of conversations about how sex isn't currency, it isn't something to withhold, on and on. Like- we had the discussions, we were on the same page... and then, somehow, everything went "tits up" as it were... so, I'm not happy about it but... selfish as it is... I need to pass the bar, and a sex life will help that

-~Ender~- November 06, 2014

Renegotiate, change "have sex" to "wash my car."

Starhawk -~Ender~- ⋅ November 06, 2014

But who washes their car in winter?

Deleted user November 06, 2014

I have a feeling scheduling sex is gonna make it happen less often... maybe just trying relating some of the moments that made you two fall in love in the first place. Sometimes we just need a little reminding.

Here's to hoping you get more sexy time!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.