Twitter: Angsty Decisions in Book One: The Not So Daily Briefs 2014

  • Oct. 31, 2014, 6:18 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

As tonight is Halloween and as my wife works SUPER early for her (normally she works at 1pm; tomorrow she works at 10am)… I wanted to do something nice. But… the recent events have made me second guess that. I hate that. I hate second guessing a nice gesture. I’d like to just “Think of a nice thing, do a nice thing” and know that it will be appreciated and seen as a sign of affection. Instead… I have to worry if it will be something that, if I do it once- she’ll expect I do it forever. I have to worry if this nice gesture will matter in the long run… or just be yet another time where I try and do for my wife, or connect to my wife and… it just falls flat.

Interesting aside— Of the five love languages; I rate most highly in Physical Touch, Quality Time, and Words of Affirmation. (Scores of 10, 8, and 7) I rate lower in Service and Gifts (4, 1).


Last updated January 04, 2016


Deleted user November 01, 2014

Where do you find out which languages of love/scores? That sounds cool.

Park Row Fallout Deleted user ⋅ November 01, 2014

I have the book; but the specific test I was referencing can be found here: http://www.5lovelanguages.com/profile/

Fawkes Gal November 03, 2014

Interesting, although I think this test is somewhat biased based on the relationship. I think it simplifies things a bit too much though.

Acts of Service was my highest at 8, which isn't surprising, given the fact that I'm frustrated with my "default parent" role of being the one who handles the bulk of the parenting responsibilities. Physical touch was 7, Words of Affirmation was 6, Receiving gifts 5, Quality time was 4.

I think if I put myself in the mindset of different relationships that I'd been in though, I'd have gotten very different results. I think these results are very reactionary and based on my difficult relationship with Hound. I think I'd have much different results if I took it as a single person. Hmmm... might actually retake it and say that and see what the difference is...

Yep, when I pretended I was single, suddenly Quality Time is at the top with a 7, followed by Acts of Service, Physical Touch, and Words of Affirmation all at 6, and Receiving Gifts at 5. Quite a difference there.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.