End of an era... in The start of something?

  • Oct. 31, 2014, 5:27 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Today was the last day at my work location. Our company is moving buildings.
The move has been happening in stages and the first lot moved two weeks ago. We were the last to go…

I started in this building April 2002. I was so excited to be going back to work. Back in the real world after having six years off to have my babies… I wanted to be home with them until they went to school....

Id been with my previous employer for 7 years and had moved four or five times so had never really settled with them.... this time is very different.

I’ve had so many changes in the last 12 years. So many things have happened personally and professionally.

About lunch time a few of us walked over to the new building for our “induction”
Basically it was just to see how to get in, where everything was, and where to assemble in the unlikely event of an emergency.
I’m going to be sitting next to big big boss… she is lovely. Really is. Best manager I’ve known but she is still big big boss.

This new office is all open plan with no private offices so that’s why the manager is on the floorwith us. The “pods” are 8 desks.. four desks facing four desks. My big big boss is directly opposite me.

I’m thinking this may lead to some interesting times!!!


I think I wrote here recently that Ive had some fantastic recognition at work... and today I found out that another girl who is doing the same job as me, was bitching about me to another of our co workers. That upset me a lot. I'm not a ladder climber, I don't even want recognition. I just want to do a good job. This girl is very competative and it's driving me insane to know about it.
Today I found she's 23. 
That figures huh...... Anyhow, she's probably mad as hell that I'm at the big big bosses table...

In more work related news… there was this one guy who joined the team a few months ago. I had previously worked with him inthe call centre. In the call centre his status or job description was above mine, but in this new area, I’m above him…
Not that I think that means anything but maybe it does....
You see I’d keep sending him facebook friend requests and he’d ignore it. And it got to me because I could see that he was friends with other people from our area, but not me!!
In the morning he’d pass by onthe way to the kitchen and say morning to the two girls who sit near me, but ignore me completely!!! I felt like this was becoming really obvious so…
Today after work we went for drinks to celebrate one chapter closing and another starting.. and he came to sit near where I was for a little while… after half a cider I had a little courage and asked him outright why he wouldn’t accept my friend request… he squirmed a little but I made it all light and cheerful and he accepted right away!! And I was glad I’d said something because I could see he doesn’t hate me lol


Hubby has worked both jobs two days ina row and tomorrow will be the same. 6.30am to 10.30pm.. I'm worried about him but don't want to show it because then he might act up to it. I know guys can handle this better than women but there's no way I'd be able todo that....I'll just be extra nice to him when he gets home!

Exercise brag:
I ran 8 of the 12 kms I did this morning. I felt pretty good and could have run more. It’s a fantastic feeling knowing I can do it… I use to do 12kms every day!! Not saying I’m going to get to that level again. I’m not putting any pressure on myself this time.. I’m going to do just what I feel like doing on the day… but I was smiling this morning!!!


ermentrude November 01, 2014

I hope you enjoy your new building and that big big boss dies notice and give you recognition :-)

ermentrude November 01, 2014

Ha ha, I do not hope that big big boss dies! I hope she does notice you!! X

January Child ermentrude ⋅ November 02, 2014

hahahahaha :)

aussie_powers November 03, 2014

well done on the running.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.