The Rare Auld Times in Book One: The Not So Daily Briefs 2014

  • Oct. 26, 2014, 9:38 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

So… since I’ve been on such a writing streak… I wanted to continue it… just for today… because even though I don’t feel like writing as much… I think it is important to share the “nothing” days or the “good” days… because those are rare.

I slept for a damned long time today. My wife allowed me to sleep in until after Noon; which was nice. Not sure that I needed it… but considering my usual weekly routine of staying up so late to be with my wife and having to get up early to go to work… sleeping in can be a wonderful gift. When I woke up, my wife had been playing on her tablet for HOURS. She does that… it is the hyper-focus of her ADHD. She picks up a game or something and loses hours of time without realizing.

When I woke up, she hadn’t eaten much so I asked if she wanted to try the Tuna thing I had made. She declined. Guessing it is because of how unappetizing it looks but that is an assumption. I played some Destiny and when… many hours later… she stopped playing her Tablet Game- I asked her what she was doing and if she wanted to do something together. She simply said “I’m gonna work out.” Well, sign me up! I went with her to go workout… because… why not?! It isn’t like I don’t work out and stuff and… hell, I want to spend time with my wife. I really think we don’t spend enough time together. The workout was… more difficult than it should have been. I’m still doing a 5k in under 20 minutes. But today… my heart felt like it was going to explode, my right shoulder is still sore as all hell, and my right hip got so jacked out of place that my foot went numb while I was running.

After that… came back home… my wife was actually nice enough to do a load of laundry! Granted… it was because, after seeing me sweat so much, she didn’t want me to touch the laundry… but still; her doing the laundry is nice. I tried to play some Destiny but there were server issues; oh well. Took a shower… and guess what?! My wife had started cooking dinner!! Frozen fish in the oven; but still… even a small gesture should be celebrated.

After that- we watched the movie The Collection. My older brother texted me during and said “Hey, dude- we haven’t played Destiny together in a while. Lets play… any mode, you pick!” But.... texted him and said I was watching a movie with my wife. I don’t know… somehow I feel good about that decision.

I was thinking.... I do love my wife. She doesn’t understand why. I do find my wife beautiful… she rejects any thoughts of that nature out of hand. SO I asked her today… I asked her why she doesn’t believe me when I tell her I love her and think she is attractive. Her response? “I believe that you believe it.” Strange.


Deleted user October 26, 2014

Yeah, you gotta savor the good old days!

Fawkes Gal October 27, 2014

When people are caught in a rut of self-hate, compliments just bounce off of them. My husband is super handsome, but he does not believe it, and he never will. People can't see what they really look like a lot of the time.

Park Row Fallout Fawkes Gal ⋅ October 27, 2014

Very true. Myself included; though sometimes I can break through the fog. It is always funny to me when I catch myself in a mirror and instead of thinking "I look tired" or "I look bloated" I think "I look handsome... how did that happen?!"
lol

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.