Thoughts While Pounding Pavement in Today

  • May 17, 2024, 9:58 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I have, on occasion, run for the pure agony of it.

Because that’s what aging men with a gut do. (Or buy a sports car and I’m cheap.)

I have noticed a very odd thing while running. In a very Truman Show sort of way, you can be going down an empty street, and all of a sudden, cars start lining up. It always seems like they are only on your side of the road or organized in such a way that you really have no escape unless you jump off the road into the ditch.

I know about confirmation bias. I have checked for it. This is an observation over many years.

Go around a curve on an otherwise empty street and suddenly there’s a car right there. This happens to me a lot. I have to jump out of the way quickly.

It makes me think of old tales of evil spirits along roads causing mischief. Makes me wonder if there’s anything to those tales, if maybe there really are entities trying to cause problems with travelers. Not saying there is, but my mind is curious.

I have a book on old shipwrecks back in the wind sailing days. A man almost died going around an island off the coast of Spain. He barely survived by swimming to shore. Twenty years later, going around the same island, his ship sank and he died.

Eerie. Is there something to it? I don’t know. Maybe.

Interesting, though.


TellTaleHeart May 17, 2024 (edited May 17, 2024)

Edited

Well, if Final Destination taught me anything, it's that if Death is coming for you, it will get you one way or another. Best of luck!

cal TellTaleHeart ⋅ May 17, 2024

Just hope it's really cool and someone gets it on camera.

Sleepy-Eyed John May 17, 2024

Hmmmmm

gattaca June 01, 2024

At least the car isn't Stephen King's '58 Plymouth Fury from the movie Christine. That car is as evil as they come.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.