April 25 - Not As Fragile in These Foolish Things

  • April 25, 2024, 6:51 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

My dermatologist called me with the results of all of the biopsies he did last week.

He sounded very, very serious.

I started bracing myself for the absolute worst. In my mind, the very worst news he could have told me was that one or all of the biopsies came back positive for melanoma. THAT is the killer skin cancer that nobody wants to have. Ugh. And his tone was pretty dire.

What he told me was in this order:

1) My scalp biopsy came back as positive for alopecia areata, which is concerning, but I haven’t seen any further loss, so I’m not really freaking out over that. Except for the question: why? And why now? But again, if I’m not getting more bald spots, let’s hope this is a minor blip for my scalp.

2) The biopsy on left shoulder was benign. I could have told you that. In fact, I believe the doc actually cut off some of the scar tissue from my Mohs surgery last year when that fast-growing squamous cell cancer popped up and the surgeon had to cut a large swath of my shoulder. But, relief nonetheless.

3) The biopsy on right shoulder was positive for basal cell carcinoma. Good news is that it was caught early and a simple procedure called scrape & burn will be used to take that sucker out. I’ve had that done before on a basal cell I found on my forearm. No biggie. Let’s cut ‘er out!

4) The biopsy on left thigh was positive for squamous cell carcinoma. And that sucker apparently has to be cut out a bit deeper, so the doc will dig out a bigger hole and stitch it up. Not as dramatic as Mohs surgery, but still a procedure.

Can I tell you the relief I felt after hearing all of that? I mean…sure, it sucks that I’m having to get all of these spots of cancer removed, but they are the pesky little suckers that come with having fair skin and being out in the glorious sunshine.

I don’t know why the doc sounded so serious. I guess hearing that I’m going to have to get some stitches might freak some people out…but look out, doc! I’m experiencing Post Traumatic Growth! I can conquer this shit and do it with a freaking SMILE at this point.

So there you have it. I’m getting older, getting balder, growing barnacles and little skin knobbies.

WHO WANTS TO DATE ME?!!! COME AND GET IT!

Love you,
GS


Complicated Disaster April 25, 2024

Pick me, pick me!! xx

Ginger Snap Complicated Disaster ⋅ April 25, 2024

Awww.... blush

Complicated Disaster Ginger Snap ⋅ April 25, 2024

<3 xx

Nash April 25, 2024

Yes, I am monitoring all those bumps and such since I finished chemo. There is one worrisome looking thing on my chest and I will have the doc look at it during my appointment on May 8. Glad all is well with you although a tad inconvenient.

Ginger Snap Nash ⋅ April 25, 2024

Yep. I think that chemo exacerbates things like sun sensitivity. And yes! Point everything out to the doc so they can just take care of any worries ASAP!!

WhatDreamsMayCome April 25, 2024

Good news!
Great growth!!!
😉

Ginger Snap WhatDreamsMayCome ⋅ April 25, 2024

Thank you, thank you!

Lux Lunae April 25, 2024

That is fantastic news that none of it was melanoma! Love how you handled this <3

Ginger Snap Lux Lunae ⋅ April 26, 2024

Yes, I'm so grateful for the fairly easy fixes!

Jinn April 25, 2024

This is actually good news ! All of it can be taken care of .
You will find that guy who is right for you !

Ginger Snap Jinn ⋅ April 26, 2024

Yep! and Yep!

Raphael Tiriel April 25, 2024

Batana oil and Black Jamaican Castor Oil have been known to help regrow hair. There is evidence that ivermectin can help kill cancer, and there is even a skin cream for ivermectin. The choice is always yours, and I suggest that you talk to your doctor. I just wanted to give you some ideas and hope. I hope you come through this.

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC7505114/

Ginger Snap Raphael Tiriel ⋅ April 26, 2024

Interesting, thanks!

Raphael Tiriel Ginger Snap ⋅ April 26, 2024

Anytime!

colder April 25, 2024

Glad those are all pretty good on balance, and no super-bad things! You have beaten some hard stuff, these little knobs and scars are probably nothing to you 🙂

Ginger Snap colder ⋅ April 26, 2024

Yep...and thanks, as ALWAYS for supporting me ❤️❤️❤️

colder Ginger Snap ⋅ April 26, 2024

Thanks for bringing us along with you!

Justlovely April 26, 2024

My hubs and now his sister going through all this, too. A pain for sure, but good to be able to get care and get rid of cancer.

Kate April 26, 2024

Damn, Girl! Nothing scares you anymore! I bet the alopecia areata is a holdover from chemo, since it's normally autoimmune.

Ginger Snap Kate ⋅ April 26, 2024

I asked my derm about the chemo, and he didn't think that's what may have caused it, but I don't know. I just hope that it comes back!

World of Bre April 27, 2024

Glad there were no bad things. And I have found no matter what the news Dr's always sound very serious. I think it's part of there training

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.