In the hear and now in These titles mean nothing.

  • April 23, 2024, 1:25 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I’m in a mood.
It’s Tuesday.
I’m at my kitchen table.
It’s twenty minutes to noon.
We have left over Casey’s pizza for lunch.
Jim’s in town getting a haircut.
He said he’d bring home a gallon of milk.
We should have groceries enough till Friday when he said we could go to LaCrosse.
He needs either New shoes or to get his current ones fixed. There is a shoe fixed in LC but we’ve ever been to h
My auto correct capitalized the N in new and would not let me go back and uncapitalized it. It wasn’t happy with uncapitalized either but was willing to let it go if I kept typing.

The washer in the basement is humming. I’m washing Jimm’s winter Carhatts - the black formal overalls. I guess it’s time to put winter clothes away. Last year I put them in a garbage bag and put it in the closet. Worked good last year. We can see how it goes this year.

Dog is snoring quietly with her head toward the West door. She has been being a good dog. I can’t think of any details right now.

I’m planning to call John. Not sure if I want to wait till noon - or wait till Jim gets home. Things have been going kind a not terribly good with him and his family. I haven’t wanted to talk about it here. And I guess I won’t. I have a hard time staying in contact with them. That’s my fault. Damn.

I got a stack of books last week at the local library’s book sale. I intended to take their pictures so you could see. But I haven’t yet. Let me make a partial list though.

  • Oprah by Kitty Kelly. I’m not a huge fan of either Oprah or Kelly but I though I might read it. It wasn’t as sharp as a lot of Kelly’s biographies of celebrities. Oprah might not have as much dirt to uncover. She is very rich.

  • Whistle by James Jones. Whistle is the third book of his WWII trilogy - the first was “From Here to Eternity”, the second was The Thin Red Line. He worked on the third book for many years and died before finishing it though he left a lot of notes and tapes describing how he intended it to end. Willie Morris finished it. The first of the series of books covers pre-Pearl Harbor Hawaii and the attack. It was a huge success and was made into a very successful movie. The second book was named for the British army’s thin red line. It took the soldiers to the Pacific islands to Guadalcanal where Jones was wounded...... along with many others. This third book is about the wounded and how they recovered or perhaps didn’t. I read today perhaps the best description of congestive heart failure which is what killed Jones himself. Jones was a very good writer. He spent time in Paris, which is what we will always have.

  • The Bully Puilpit by Doris Kearns Goodwin. Big thick history of Teddy Roosevelt, Taft and the golden age of reporters. I’m not sure how much of it I”ll read but it doesn’t hurt to have it under the roof.

  • Silent Spring by Rachel Carson - original hardcover with a poor binding. I might own it already. I really need to organize by books.

  • Blowback by Valeria Plaime and a ghost. Plame was a U.S. spy married to a U. S. diplomat and somehow her cover was blown. Happened in the last ten or so years maybe? I started this and it reminded me of LeCarre which of course all spy novels do.

  • I accidentally bought *The Castle in the Forest” by Norman Mailer. I tried to read it when it was new. It’s about Hitler’s childhood, I think.

  • And a little paperback of Steinbeck’s Cannery Row , plus The Making of a Surgeon by William Nolan and a book about Wyatt Earp. Nolan was a small town Minnesota real doc who wrote a series of quite good books relating to his own life..... One was called Healing and it had a chapter about each kind of semi- or genuine fake medicine. I’d love to have a copy of it.
    He might have died of the same thing Jones did. One of his books was about his own heart surgery. His doctor was an Asian man whom he respected a great deal. He said he regretted calling the doc short.

Ok that’s it for today.

Read something and tell me about it.

-


WhatDreamsMayCome April 23, 2024

Good collection of books on sale!
Gotta love that auto correct!

Just Annie April 24, 2024

What a wonderful list of books. I just finished a 'biography' about the Atlantic by Simon Winchester and I'm about halfway through his 'biography' on the Pacific. I recommend them both!

woman in the moon Just Annie ⋅ April 25, 2024

I looked up Simon Winchester in wiki and found a spread sheet of his interviews about various books. He's written a lot of interesting looking history and geographic type books. I'm going to chase down a few interviews. I like to see and hear authors and make them real people.
Thank you. He's new to me.

NorthernSeeker April 24, 2024

The "3 Body Problem" series I'm reading keeps quoting from Silent Spring. From your description I'd like to read both Whistle and Blowback. I have just started "Young Mungo" by Douglas Adams who also wrote" Shuggie Bain", a novel I read last year. One of the reviews on the back cover describes the novel as being "...another beautiful and moving book, a gay Romeo and Juliet set in the brutal world of Glasgow's housing estates."

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.