April 23 - PTG Pondering in These Foolish Things

  • April 23, 2024, 8:49 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I want to write a lot more about Post Traumatic Growth (I first posted about it here) and why it is not a thing here in the United States?

Our fellow PBer, [sudare], who is Japanese, living in Japan tells me that it is a well-known concept there because they have so many earthquakes causing trauma in the lives of the people there.

But why do you think this is not something that we promote here in the US? I hate to say it, but I wonder if Big Pharma has something to do with it? Or Big Alcohol? Ha. Did I just coin a term?

Because see, PTG can actually be a parallel path when one is experiencing PTSD or distress of some sort. It is the positive that comes out of something horrendous, and it happens naturally as your life after whatever trauma you’ve experienced moves through its phases. It’s the GOOD that you see. The LOVE OF LIFE that you experience. It’s the SECOND CHANCE!

And you may still be experiencing a whole lot of grief and pain throughout this process of moving through life after a traumatic experience, but that’s part of the growth.

Of course, your natural instinct is to stop whatever’s hurting - or at least to blunt that feeling and that’s where Big Pharma and Big Alcohol step in. Of course, they numb and they blunt, so how can growth happen there?

So we don’t talk about it here…or at least we haven’t heard of it yet? WHY is this such a huge revelation to me, even after going through therapy? I feel like this is something important that we should be learning about after a traumatic event.

And granted, I understand that during a traumatic event and in the immediate after, you are taking care of things in the only way you can/know how. I do believe there is a place for medication during the trauma. Hell, I just got a refill of my valium prescription for my upcoming CT scans and whatnot. I know it takes time to even begin to distance yourself from the feeling of immediate danger.

But it’s the days, months and years after where this growth becomes noticeable. Or at least it should. And where is the discussion and the guidance? Where are the groups and the celebrations of our growth? Is it a BAD thing to feel so amazing about getting through a horrible experience?

Is it selfish?

I don’t think so. I think that one of the main positives is that feeling that you want to pass this growth on to those around you or to society in general, so the thing is – why aren’t we hearing more about this and how we can make this world a better place with our growth?

I guess in that respect the idea is just to go out and do things. But I feel like there could somehow be MORE!

So much more to ponder, but I gotta start the day - this glorious day that I’ve been given!

(…maybe that’s it? Maybe that people talking about their growth is annoying? Hahah!)

Love!
GS


pandora April 23, 2024

When I decided to go alcohol-free, I read a few books for inspiration and ‘Big Alcohol’ was definitely mentioned in them! It’s for sure a thing.

And if people are annoyed by your positivity… poor them for being miserable? Not your problem.

Ginger Snap pandora ⋅ April 23, 2024

It's funny. I obviously wasn't looking hard enough - blinded by my own obliviousness.

I have a bunch of cancer friends I've made online, and the ones who've gotten through the most trauma describe themselves as "annoyingly optimistic" 🤣😊❤️✨

Skeletor April 23, 2024

Taking a 30,000 foot view, growth in nearly every sector and aspect of life isn’t discussed here in the states. It’s all hidden behind paywalls. Packaged and sold like a product. Tested and analyzed so it can be formulated into a one size fits all experience and monetized for passive income profits. Growth is subjective, of course, and it’s one of those things that we all strive for. Yet our version of success is so different from most of the rest of the world’s. I am not sure if this is a failing of capitalism itself or a failing of our nation, or if that is one and the same. That is my opinion anyway. I feel we could navigate the topic through several sectors of life here and end in the same result because of this.

Ginger Snap Skeletor ⋅ April 23, 2024

So much to think about!

Skeletor Ginger Snap ⋅ April 23, 2024

It is but I feel like it’s true, which is sad. Growth should be celebrated and the paths should be shown and shared. They’re just not, though. Not here. And I know that some of that is individual, but it often feels systemic too.

I always felt that there were things like this regarding post-PTSD; I never gave them charts or names but I know I’ve walked those roads. Glad someone else made a sense of it and shared it. Hope that we all can do more of the same.

Complicated Disaster April 23, 2024

Drugs and alcohol are just masking agents. They aren't solutions. xx

Ginger Snap Complicated Disaster ⋅ April 23, 2024

Do you hear of the PTG concept in the UK?

Complicated Disaster Ginger Snap ⋅ April 23, 2024

I've never heard of it before but it makes perfect sense to me! xx

Cathy April 23, 2024

I think one reason we don't promote it here is because we've never heard of it. It just needs to be be talked about a lot more for a period of time to be more known.

There's also a trend in very recent years towards a victim mentality. If you are a "victim", you need others to "take care" of you.

The concept of PTG turns this on its ear. That's not to say that those with trauma don't need or benefit from support/help. But the concept of PTG is, for the long term, the most empowering.

The concepts in the graphic are very helpful. It seems so beneficial, not only for extreme trauma, but for those times when life is overwhelming.

Ginger Snap Cathy ⋅ April 24, 2024

Exactly! Exactly!!

I want more talk. More!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.