April 22 - my adidas in These Foolish Things

  • April 22, 2024, 10:11 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I bought these adidas sneaks at DSW because they were the less-expensive ($75) version of these adidas sneaks ($100). And I love the cheaper version! Not only that, I received several compliments on them over the weekend - including one hip guy in a boutique store.

They are super comfortable, go with any kind of denim and ALSO are the perfect little athletic show to wear with pretty summer sundresses AND are great for trail walking too! I mean, really great all-around workhorse shoe that’s trendy too!

So today when I got an email stating that DSW was having a sale for Earth Day and their advertising said “Literally Everything on Sale!” I decided to bite the bullet and buy the black version as well since I had a $5 bonus and the sale would add $15 to that, so the $75 shoes that look like $100 shoes would come out to be $55 (plus tax)! Not bad.

But of course, even though the shoes are advertised on sale, in red ink, splashed across the listing, this particular shoe was excluded from the sale. EVEN THOUGH it’s on the listing and I was able to plug in the discount code at checkout…it wouldn’t give me the discount in the end.

Now I get retail and brands and sometimes this is done for various reasons, but I was so annoyed that DSW had advertised it incorrectly, so I decided to notify their customer service and let them know that I didn’t think it was cool of them to do that.

Long, long, looooonggggg story short, I bordered on acting like a Karen after waiting on hold for 24:49 minutes. While I waited on hold, I sent an email to customer service with a screenshot of the ad showing that the item was on sale yet excluded from the sale. Once someone in India answered, I told them that I hoped they were recording the phone call and that their website is splashed with false advertising! Oh my god, I wasn’t a total dick, but I was a semi. Ew.

And they immediately gave me the discount so I then had to go through with the order. HAHAHA! Ugh. What an asshole. Me, not them. But geez! Don’t do that to people!

Moral of the story is, Mercury is in retrograde here on Earth Day. And I have more fresh sneaks headed my way!

G’nite,
GS


Jinn April 23, 2024

I believe this was a Mercury in retrograde day . I felt … off all day for no particular reason.
Glad you did get your shoes in the end .

Complicated Disaster April 23, 2024

Yeah. But you know they could just have got it right! xx

Cathy April 23, 2024 (edited April 23, 2024)

Edited

I'm not a complainer (in general), but I do dislike false advertising. I don't think you did anything bad by bringing that to their attention.

colder April 23, 2024

I have always had some permutation of that style of adidas shoe in my closet forever. Timeless cool IMO.

Thanks for scoring one for truth in advertising :)

Ginger Snap colder ⋅ April 23, 2024

Ah yes, I think they look so GREAT on guys!! It's only recently that I think they look amazing on girls too!

WhatDreamsMayCome April 23, 2024

Wear them well!

Ginger Snap WhatDreamsMayCome ⋅ April 23, 2024

Thank you!

Lux Lunae April 24, 2024

Sometimes we need to push a bit for these things. It isn't cool when companies falsely advertise.

World of Bre April 27, 2024

Nice shoes. Always used to wear Asic's as running shoes but switched to HOKA's and have found them a lot more comfortable. They are prieu but we need to take care of our tootsies

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.