April 21 - PTG in These Foolish Things

  • April 21, 2024, 9:06 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

You’ve heard of PTSD, right? Post Traumatic Stress Disorder. Here’s a blurb from the Mayo Clinic’s website:

Overview. Post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) is a mental health condition that’s triggered by a terrifying event — either experiencing it or witnessing it. Symptoms may include flashbacks, nightmares and severe anxiety, as well as uncontrollable thoughts about the event.

But have you heard of PTG? Post Traumatic Growth?

I hadn’t heard that term until I was listening to the Mel Robbins Podcast while driving the three hours to my doc appointments on Friday. She had on this Harvard professor who talked about happiness and how to build the life that you want, and at one point, he started discussing PTG.

And I feel like that might be what’s going on with me right now!

Sure, my blood pressure spiked when I went from my primary care physicians office to my oncologist’s office. That’s classic PTSD!

But I feel like I’m in this state of new possibilities lately. This chart kinda says everything I want to say:

alt text

Anyway. I’m excited about today. The rain stopped. It’s cool outside. I’m about to do my workout and then head outside for a good dog walk before heading out to take my mom and dad to lunch. Then I’ll drive the 3 hours back to my place before starting a brand new week.

Lots to do and think about!

Love,
GS


Mr. Mofo April 21, 2024

Soooooo PTG is emotional/spiritual growth one can achieve after some trauma?

Holy crap at three hour drive for an appointment!?!?!?!?!

Ginger Snap Mr. Mofo ⋅ April 22, 2024

Haha, yes - the three hour drive is to keep my medical team that I started with in [former city] in tact because they were there from the beginning of my medical traumas for the last 5 years. I try to stack my appointments all in one day and take that day off from work. I also try to make the appointments on a Friday if I can so that I can spend the weekend!

Complicated Disaster April 22, 2024

Of course that makes total sense! Happy Monday! xx

Ginger Snap Complicated Disaster ⋅ April 22, 2024

Happy Monday!! ❤️

sudare April 22, 2024

It’s well known here since we have a lot of big earthquakes.

Ginger Snap sudare ⋅ April 22, 2024

Oh! That makes absolute sense to me. I have a feeling we don't make such a big deal here in the U.S. is so that our medical teams can prescribe more anti-depressants and our alcohol business continues to flourish.

WhatDreamsMayCome April 22, 2024

There you have it!
5 domains to explore!
Ever onward.
😎

Skeletor April 22, 2024

I like the chart and can see its relations to my own life and experiences. Thank you for sharing it 😌

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.