April 16 - Skin *Update in These Foolish Things

  • April 16, 2024, 8:15 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I’m up to get myself ready for the day, then take the dog to daycare this morning so I can make it to my dermatology appointment.

Believe it or not, I’ve never had a whole body scan in a dermatological way. I’ve always addressed my concerning lumps, bumps, sores and bald spots as they popped up, but today is to address my epidermis (and I guess my dermis as well?) as a whole.

I’m kind of excited. And nervous.

I’ll let you know how it goes. I have a lot to go over, thanks to being a fair-skinned redhead.

xo,
GS

Update: Docs are pretty observant with cancer patients! I went in with a laundry list of things to discuss, so here’s the low-down…

  • Bald Spot in Center of Head: a little concern about why the steroid shot did nothing but put a divot in the center of my skull. Result = punch biopsy requiring stitches

  • Red Splotches on Face: No concern, this is something that happens with age and can be covered with makeup. Result = OK!

  • Mole on Upper Left Breast: seborrhoeic keratosis (aka. barnacle). Result = OK!

  • Large Splotch on Lower Left Breast: seborrhoeic keratosis (this thing is big, y’all, but it’s also been there forever). Result = OK! whew

  • Two Spots on Back, One on Each Shoulder: Suspicious moles I’d never even seen, so thank goodness I had today’s visit. Doc said look maybe like basal cell carcinoma. Result = shave biopsy both

  • Multitude of Moles on Torso: allll barnacles!! All things that happen as fair-skinned people age. Result = OK!

  • Left Knee Mole: Suspicious looking. Result = shave biopsy

  • Left Ankle Mole: seborrhoeic keratosis. Result = OK!

Is that enough or WHAT?! Ugh. I feel a little violated, but also glad to have gotten the once, twice and three-times over! Now I wait for results, go back in two weeks to have my head stitches taken out, and if the spots are all ok, I go back in three months (high surveillance!). If there ARE issues, I go back to get those fuckers taken care of!

I’m spent.

I need to go for a walk and then get back to work.


Last updated April 17, 2024


Jinn April 16, 2024

I have never done that either.

Complicated Disaster April 16, 2024

Interesting!! xx

Skeletor April 16, 2024

Try not to worry too much if you can help it. I get nervous at certain medical appointments too, though, so it’s a bit of a pot kettle moment. But ☝🏼 here’s well wishing that it all goes smoothly, and that they find nothing of high concern for you 😌

Ginger Snap Skeletor ⋅ April 17, 2024

I wasn't as scared going in as I was coming out to be honest! Ugh!

Skeletor Ginger Snap ⋅ April 17, 2024 (edited April 17, 2024)

Edited

Did they tell you about all the bad things that can happen to your skin 😰

It looks like aside from the two suspect moles you’re A-okay sailor ☺️ that’s good news!

Firebabe April 18, 2024

I have a full dermatology scan coming up in June!

Ginger Snap Firebabe ⋅ April 18, 2024

Fingers crossed!!

sudare April 20, 2024

hugs

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.