April 14 - Weekend Doings in These Foolish Things

  • April 14, 2024, 3:27 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

By the way, I was not feeling sorry for myself in the last entry when I was talking about how nothing in my life has turned out the way I thought it would - I was simply observing and noting. It’s not a bad thing or a good thing necessarily, though maybe if you believe in a higher being, I think I was guided away from some things that could have been disasters (think: marrying my cheating ex and having his psychotic son in my life). So. Just interesting.

The weekend has been wonderful so far.

I went downtown for my long walk with the dog, and ended up at my friend Diane’s new apartment. She is a former neighbor of C.’s and she and I have become friends. She’s the one who’d started doing walks with me, but she’s injured her foot and can’t do the walks anymore. Bummer!

BUT - she recently moved to a beautiful new highrise and I wanted to check it out, so she invited me over and it fit perfectly into my walking schedule with Martini, so off we went!

Her new building is in a fantastic location. It’s downtown, right next to a whole section of music, food, and entertainment venues. It would be such a blast to take a couple-block walk and be right in the center of that!

She’d hyped the place up, and yes, it was lovely and all with fantastic amenities and an amazing view from the rooftop pool and party area. As she was showing me all of the amazing features of the building, I noticed that everyone walking around looked like freaking models - like this was an exclusive club or something. And I know that every highrise downtown is outrageously expensive. Generally, the people moving to this city are either coming from the East or West Coasts where the cost of living is higher, but that’s caused the prices of everything here to skyrocket.

Anyway, the point being, she then showed me HER apartment, which she’d hyped up in such a manner that I was expecting something like a Trump Tower golden gilded suite.

To my surprise, it was a nice two-bedroom place, but oh so plain and small. There was nothing special to it - just a newly-constructed unit in a newly-constructed building that looks like all of the other newly-constructed apartments. It’s fine. Her balcony is tiny. Her view is of the roof of a parking garage and the freeway…which, granted looks super cool at night, but in the light of day is meh.

I don’t know. For the price she is paying, I expected something quite different. She is a highly paid executive at a gigantic financial corporation and has great taste in fashion. So it just came to me as a surprise that it wasn’t…more.

She’s pushing hard for me to move into that building when my lease is up where I am so that we can be neighbors. And as much as I’d love to be closer to her so we can do more things together, I will NOT be going to that building. Maybe a different building close by, but not that one.

Still, I’m happy that she’s thrilled to be living downtown. I know exactly that happiness. I want to be able to be close to all the fun!

We tried to get C. and his brother to come down and visit, but didn’t hear from them.

So I left to go shoe shopping. I needed some more athletic shoes for pickleball and then just general walking around. Plus trying to figure out something cute yet sporty for this afternoon’s party…

So. I have yet to do my #1 workout (right after this), then head out to pickleball league, and then I’m headed immediately after for a volunteer appreciation party for the event where I volunteered last month.

That’s one really cool perk of volunteering in this town - seems like all of the things I’ve volunteered for throw big appreciation parties afterwards! I didn’t even realize it until I started getting invitations. This week, the sponsors are throwing a party at this fun new bar/restaurant that happens to also have pickleball courts (!!!) and in a couple more weeks, I’ll be going to another appreciation party for the marathon volunteers at a cool brewery.

So I better get going. My prep for today isn’t going to prep itself!!

Hope you’re having a fantastic weekend (or the weekend you deserve…wink to two of my fave PBers)!

xo,
GS


Jinn April 14, 2024

Sounds fun! Enjoy !

Complicated Disaster April 15, 2024

I still can't quite get to grips with the idea of city living!! xx

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.