Sounds Like a Plan in Everyday Ramblings

  • April 13, 2024, 5:57 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I turned in the big budget project I have been working on and stressing over since the middle of December, midweek. I learned so much on many levels doing this. You can’t say I haven’t challenged myself since retiring. No siree Bob.

There is this lull in the action on this until the third week in May, when I will be presenting the package to the membership for approval in person at our annual meeting. (What to wear then has been on my mind.) Then, I will need to clean up what I have and make a new template for the person doing this next year, which will not be me. Then I transition to my new board level position as of July 1st.

Our League President sent me a heartfelt thank you yesterday, so, unlike the horrid job situation I was previously in, here my work is appreciated. She is on her way to Croatia and a tour of the Balkans today. Running away and taking a break seems a very sensible strategy to me.

I am already doing some things (attending state and national Zoom meetings etc.) for that position so the change will be somewhat gradual. Less stressful, I hope. Next week I also have a board meeting for the other nonprofit board I am actually on as a director at large.

The space bar on my laptop is sticking and this is driving me a bit crazy. I used compressed air and rebooted but still it persists.

A family of local pigeons has found my bird feeder array. This is fascinating Carlo, who is sitting next to me talking trash to them. There is only a finch feeder so the pigeons can’t help themselves to that but early I put out a few peanuts and some sunflower seeds for the jays and towhees and juncos. They get the leftovers.

And there is clean water. The pigeons scrounge. It is only four of them and they give up after checking things out and keeping Carlo entertained is important, so I will let them be.

I am making a commitment to working on stress management in the next month or so to see if I can get a handle on the heart stuff. I am feeling a bit better as the days roll on. The drier warmer days are helping.

During a gorgeous sunrise this morning I walked carrying the lupine and put it in the garden plot. It is so pretty and hasn’t even started to flower. I just like the plant. Tomorrow I am going to get the primula in. The purple and white columbine has open flowers and more on the way. This morning doing some community weeding, the garden felt like my happy place again. Today I am going to start some lobelia and basil seeds.

Another commitment I made to myself is to stop procrastinating by playing little computer games. I am absolutely sure I will continue to procrastinate but there has got to be better ways to do it. Cleaning, coloring, walking around the block and yesterday I downloaded the Calm app for little guided meditations to indulge in instead when I feel tempted by the distraction of a game.

I am perfectly capable of meditating without guidance, but I don’t very often. And besides I get ideas for language to use when I am teaching.

Next month I am going to make a quick trip up to Seattle to visit my niece for the weekend. She is a bit unmoored lately with her daughter across the country working at NYU and possibly going to graduate school in France next year and my niece in the process of finding a new job.

Even this short trip feels a lot for me because of Carlo and all the regular things I am doing but getting away even for a few days is important. Perspective and all that.

In the meantime, I might just take a bath. Sounds like a plan.


Jinn April 14, 2024

You are really immersed in this stuff ! Congrats on being a board member.
My garden is usually my happy place . We will see how it goes this year. .
I hope you have a lovely visit with your niece.

mcbee April 14, 2024

I am glad you are feeling appreciated now, I remember when you were working and how it made you feel so low.
I also have a problem with getting on the computer and getting sucked into the various rabbit holes, some of it being games. I found the games made me anxious because I put pressure on myself to be the best at everything, so I acknowledged that and backed away.

Zipster April 17, 2024

Oh the flowers, so beautiful, a definite spiritlifter! So nice to be appreciated too, after the horror of your job. I think we are all procrastinating with either games or just general scrolling, certainly the current state of the world is so unbearable that one needs distraction.Maybe a bath and some meditation? So Miss E is off to France for grad school, my how far she has gone!

Jinn April 20, 2024

I read the other day that pigeons always stay around populated areas because we domesticated them ; then we decided we did not need them :-( . It’s true you rarely see them outside of cities or towns . I like them myself .

noko Jinn ⋅ April 20, 2024

I am down to two now, I think they are offspring of the other two. They come regular as clockwork. Yesterday they both took a bath and then started fussing at each other as siblings often do.

Jinn noko ⋅ April 22, 2024

They are really good at hiding their babies . It’s rare to see a nest or a fledgling. :-)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.