This is a quick entry. in These titles mean nothing.

  • April 13, 2024, 5:45 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I have stuff to do today.
I want to go to town and buy groceries while my pants are clean.
I want to plant a couple daylilies and my big investment rose bushes after I come home.
I called people for next week’s writers group. I got all answering machines or I guess the term is voice mail except for one person who was pretty vague about coming or not. He said he’s tell his wife.
I looked up the corporal and spiritual works of mercy and left them in a note on Gypsy’s diary.
I thought about them because I went to hear a man speak who had spend a week on the Arizona/Mexico border observing and trying to help migrants.
Let that sink in.
I’ve been helping feed a lively still healthy black calf named Floyd. He was a twin and his sibling is still with their mother. He has a nipple pail- which is what my dad used to feed calves. He has a companion who still has a mother and who gets supplements from a bottle. He has a white face and his name is Pink. Pink might be a girl. Funny how sex identification matters and doesn’t matter. A lot of the time the entities we deal with could be either male or female and it doesn’t matter. Promouns, you know.
I found a fantastic early Faulkner novel called Mosquitoes that is read to me on YouTube. I’d love to tell you about it but I lack the time and focus.
I picked some bright yellow daffodils with orange centers and they are on the table.
I tried to call my daughterinlaw last night but only got voice mail. I left her a message that was a lot like this entry.
I have to go now.
But first.

Corporal:
To feed the hungry
To give drink to the thirsty
To ransom the captive
To bury the dead,
To shelter the stranger
To comfort the sick
To clothe the naked
Spiritual:
To instruct the ignorant
To counsel the doubtful
To admonish sinners
To bear wrongs patiently
To forgive offences willingly
To comfort the afflicted
To pray for the living and the dead.

7 months ago

Note the reflection of the road in the Buick’s hood.


Last updated April 13, 2024


NorthernSeeker April 13, 2024

I had a good laugh at you having to go to town while your pants were still clean...that is something I understand very well. I love the bottom photo and the reflection of the golden tree on the hood. I am not suited to the corporal mercies. To ransom the captive? What if I don't like them. I could do the first three on the spiritual mercies. I did those a lot during my teaching career.

Jinn April 14, 2024

Hoping this calf lives a long life :-)

Just Annie April 14, 2024

Ella's Grandpa Steve purchased her 4H cow a couple of weeks ago. She named him Monty. I know she's better prepared to let him go at the end of the fair, but I don't know if it will be any easier. (She admits she likes the money. Her Grandpa Steve donated the cost of the cow and taking care of him and she keeps the profit for her savings. Except for $100, he said. She can spend that how she likes.)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.