April 13- The Good Life in These Foolish Things

  • April 13, 2024, 9:35 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

It’s the weekend. Enough about work stuff. While it provides me with the funds to live this life, I know that’s not what life is all about.

As part of my 75 Hard program, I started reading The Good Life book. It’s a fascinating study that is still in progress. It is the longest-running Harvard study that’s been going on since 1938. They have followed thousands of people and their families throughout their lives (kinda like these online diaries, huh?) to discover the keys to happiness.

I know what the bottom line is (of course, I will read the whole book because the very first few paragraphs actually made me cry): relationships.

I’m sure I’ll have much more to write about that in the coming days as I read.

I wanted to write down part of the conversation I had with my dad last night. You know we talk on the phone nearly every evening, right? Our nightly phone calls started five years ago after my carotid artery dissection because I was scared of having a stroke in the middle of the night and never waking up so I wanted us to touch base daily. It’s now turned into me checking on my parents…well, in honesty, I think it’s more checking on each other!

Anyway, I was talking with Dad about all of the bullshit from work and how I can’t believe that my career is ending up in such disarray. And then I said, “but I guess it’s on point because nothing in my life has turned out the way I thought it would.”

And that’s so freaking true.

I thought I’d have a wildly thriving career. There have been twists and turns and, while I’m not too pleased right now, I suppose there’s still time to turn many things around and to be able to retire at some point with grace and satisfaction. But the road has not been easy or simple at all.

I thought I’d be in a successful partnership. Now. I’ve been in many relationships, but my end goal was a thriving marriage and I’m just not there yet! And lately, it’s not something I have prioritized, but I think it might be time to reevaluate. Again.

I thought I’d have children. That would have been an outcome of the above paragraph. In reality, however, even though I thought I’d have kids, I’m pretty fine with the fact that I didn’t. I might be missing out on a mother-child relationship, but I think I can capture that in other ways. It’d be great if I could bond with my niece, but I just don’t feel it yet for various reasons.

I’m hoping as I read this book I might find some keys to unlocking some of the things that have been just out of my reach all of these years.

I think some of it has to do with risk aversion, but it’s not for lack of effort. I just want to see maybe where I could be doing some things better, ya know?

Always a work in progress.

Thank you, as always for listening.

xo,
GS


cal April 13, 2024

I read a couple articles about that study. I like the fact that multiple generations of careers went into tracking the study and it's still going.

"Nothing in my life has turned out the way I thought it would.”

That hit me hard. I understand the sentiment. I don't feel like I was properly prepared for disappointment.

Ginger Snap cal ⋅ April 13, 2024

Yeah, and I'm not feeling sorry for myself. It's just that there are things that are ingrained in "us" when we're children: go to school, start a career, get married, have kids, retire... ya know? And those things didn't turn out like I imagined. It's not good or bad - it's just the way it is. I'm not SAD. I just pictured things differently.

cal Ginger Snap ⋅ April 13, 2024 (edited April 13, 2024)

Edited

I've gotten over the.disappointment. I just feel like I'd be farther ahead if I hadn't had to learn those lessonsnon my own. And what do l know? Maybe they have to be learned from experience.

Amaryllis April 13, 2024

I'm buying this book! Happiness and data? Yes please.

pandora April 13, 2024

I think platonic relationships can be so so fulfilling but I understand how different it feels. I have close friendships but I’d still miss the ‘in this together’ vibe a relationship brings. This book sounds interesting - would you recommend it? (You can finish it before you answer!)

Ginger Snap pandora ⋅ April 14, 2024

Yeah, I the life partner type relationship is a different thing that just feels a little out of reach to me for some reason. But I'm so in love with my platonic relationships and so happy for them.

I'm not that far into the book yet, but I'm very intrigued! I have a feeling it's going to hold my attention. I'll let you know for sure!

Jinn April 14, 2024

I can honestly say hardly anything in my life turned out as I planned. It would seem like I was on track then suddenly the road would drop out from under me. It feels like I always have to regroup. That’s ok but it can wear a person out at times. I truly need to concentrate on how to make
My life richer and more orderly .

Complicated Disaster April 15, 2024

My life is very different from what I expected when I was younger - but I think it's better than I was expecting in many ways too! xx

World of Bre April 20, 2024

I don't know of anyone who has had there life turn out exactly the way they thought it would. Look ar the positive. You have a large friend base to rely on. You are staying fit and getting more healthy. You have a great companion in Martini. You have loving and supportive parents. You are on a very healthy path in life. You are looking good and confident enough to want to get naked in front of a member of the opposite sex again. Sure your job is not what you want it to be. But whose is? Stay positive as you are and great things will come your way!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.