Third Monday of Great Lent (Day 22) in Reiwa 6

  • April 9, 2024, 7:51 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

In the 6th year of the Reiwa Emperor.
Regarding the events of Monday March 26th (Julian Calendar)

Apparently my counting is poor and this is Day 22.

As for Monday . . . I slept most of the day. I ate too much lunch, and I ate too much dinner. I regret all of it. I got my praying and reading in, but not my cleaning. I also canceled my Japanese lesson on account of not feeling well. Could be migraine? Could be fasting weakness. Could be the pain pills I’m on. Regardless, it’s not great, and I simply cannot force myself to study no matter how much I know I should. Especially as it’s vocab, and that’s something that’s difficult to catch up on once you’re behind. Which . . . is probably a pretty darned good reason to study it. We’ll do it tonight (Tuesday the 9th). Maybe.

If all that is permissible were good
We’d little need an ounce of self control
If all that we could do were what we should
We’d easily enough reach any goal

If all that were not good were banned to us
I do not think that we could breathe the air
Or do the smallest thing without a fuss
Or find the time or energy to care

The balance of “we can, we should, we may”
Is not a thing that’s easy to proclaim
I’m sadly coming to this truth today
So much to my embarrassment and shame

But could such balance be within my grasp
I’d give myself until my final gasp

Sagging wires, crows
Garbage waiting down below
Take your time, my friends


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.