Second Saturday of Great Lent (day 18) in Reiwa 6

  • April 9, 2024, 2:28 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

In the 6th year of the Reiwa Emperor.
Regarding the events of Saturday March 24th (Julian Calendar)

This entry is obviously late
The next few days will all be, by extension, late.

Of late, my sleep has been poor. I don’t know for certain the cause, but it’s certainly been the case. Furthermore, whether a result of the fast, poor sleep, seasonal changes, or other factors I can’t think of at the moment, I’m feeling a bit down and dreary. It’s been hard, and I’ll admit that I’ve been failing a lot. But . . . staring at a screen for work is just reminding me of everything that I haven’t been getting done and that I should be, so I’m having a go at this.

Saturday is always my longest and most difficult day. My early morning kinder is now mostly made up of 2 year olds, I had new students in my early elementary classes, and . . . just a lot. After, I wanted to go home, but I invited Aoi to dinner at the cafe, so we went there, and then we talked for a while. I’m not ever entirely sure what I think about her, but spending time with her is good, so we’ll do that for now and see what happens. It’s not like she has many other friends.

I don’t remember what all or else I did. I think I basically passed out after that once I got home? Anyway, it wasn’t a great day.

If working hard were all it took to be
our better selves, and we could be them when
we had achieved the smallest victory
I would have been a better person then

If fighting on were all it took to win
against ourselves or any brazen foe
I would have never needed to begin
And starting as from nothing face this woe

Beyond all human effort there exists
A power capable of this and more
And when we lack the strength to hold our fists
We would find peace had we not played the whore

Unworthy that I be in all that’s real
permit me to partake in your true meal

When petals are gone
We forget the cherry trees
for another year


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.