April 8 - Pickled in These Foolish Things

  • April 8, 2024, 5:57 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Went to my beginner Novice Pickleball League yesterday.

For the first time since I’ve started to learn how to play, I felt like I was really in the game! It’s starting to get fun for me. Even though they say it’s an easy game to play, it’s actually been quite frustrating since I haven’t taken lessons (my neighbors taught me the rules and the basics). But yesterday I played with some pretty good (for novice) folks and kept my ground!

There was a guy there who was subbing for someone who couldn’t make it, and he was from the Advanced League. We asked him to go easy on us, and he did…until the end. He was really good, but still novice enough to not be bored with the whole thing, I think.

I quickly developed a little crush on him and during the few breaks we had, I was hoping he might ask me if I wanted to practice sometime. Haha! I seriously got this in my head and was scheming up ways I might be able to see him again.

In fact, it made me think about my appearance on the pickleball courts. I wear my hair up in a tight, messyish bun and I need to choose a different hairstyle that will still work but be cuter. A baseball cap with a ponytail pulled through might help…

And I am a freckled fair skinned girlie with a history of skin cancer, so you know I gotta slather on the unsexy 50 SPF sunscreen, but those are the cards I was dealt.

Speaking of crushes, guess who I saw as I was leaving? My lesbian crush! She’s in the Advanced League which plays right after the beginners are done. We hugged like we hadn’t seen each other in years! We had time for a quick little chat.

Remember, she moved away a couple of weeks ago? Well, in kind of a crazy coincidence, one of her new neighbors works on projects that are connected with my big boss, Head Cat, and I’ve actually met this neighbor briefly when I went to that hotel to meet with Head Cat (remember that weird event where I had to work with him in his trashed-out hotel room?).

To make a super convoluted story short, the neighbor who works with Head Cat actually CALLED while I was talking with L.C. (lesbian crush), and L.C. answered to tell her that she and I were standing there next to each other. Now Head Cat is coming back to town for a super short event, and the neighbor said he speaks so highly of me and that we all need to get together when he’s in town, and L.C. said that they want to host us at their new place!

I know, it’s a crazy story and I’ll try to tease it out later to make it easier to understand, but the bottom line is…SMALL WORLD!

After all of that, I went to Target and found the CUTEST little athletic dress to wear at pickleball next time! I’m going to be a stylish pickleballer YET!!

Gotta run and get ready for work and THE ECLIPSE! More on that tomorrow, I’m sure!

xo,
GS


Complicated Disaster April 08, 2024

Will you get the black or green dress? I think the baseball cap and ponytail idea is sex on a stick! xx

World of Bre April 20, 2024

Great outfit to play pickeball in. It will certainly turn some heads. And I agree it's not as easy as it looks. And I played tennis for the last 22 years and I had tonadjust to it. I hear you about the sun block. I am of Irish origin and very fair skinned. They called me Casper in hs and college. So I know what you speak of with slathering suntan lotion on. The joys of being a Ginger

Ginger Snap World of Bre ⋅ April 21, 2024

Ah yes, the curse and blessing of being a redhead!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.