Forward Motion in Today

  • April 5, 2024, 10:52 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I found out a self evident fact this morning at about five-thirty.

I used to run. I like running. Last year I tore something in my knee and quit. When I went to get back in shape this year, I figured as I get older I might not want to risk it again so I started with the elliptical like you do when you’re old.

This has been going on for a couple months about fifteen to twenty minutes a day on the elliptical.

Yesterday someone had the audacity to be on the sole elliptical in the gym. Unacceptable, but there it was. They probably didn’t know who I was or it never would have happened, I’m sure.

So I did what any overconfident, aging, middle aged man would do.

I went for a run.

Let me tell you, that while the elliptical was helping me lose weight… It did not prepare me for that run.

Because… Wow. My calves and thighs are hurting.

I feel like I’ve been lied to.


gattaca April 05, 2024

I know what this feels like.
I am closing in on 70, and while I don't have an exercise routine like yours, If I skip even one day my arthritis "sings the song of its people" the next day. Ow.

cal gattaca ⋅ April 06, 2024

My back hurts most days. Hoping that will ease once I get this weight off.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.