April 5 - Friday in These Foolish Things

  • April 5, 2024, 6:13 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

It’s Friday. We made it.

After working for Cool Cat Company for nearly 6 months now (can you believe it?!), I’m starting to enjoy working from home in some aspects. If you take out the fact that I work so much more efficiently in a face-to-face setting and that I desperately miss the social aspect of the office, I’d say I’m getting quite spoiled.

Take yesterday as an example:

The weather yesterday was amazing - a perfect Springtime afternoon - sunny, warm breeze but not too hot, and the fresh, sweet aroma of wildflowers everywhere.

I had three Zoom meetings that were each between an hour and three hours and once those were over, I just got the dog, put her in the car and drove to the park, and took an hour-long walk. It wasn’t my lunch break (I’d already taken an almost hour-long lunch before my second Zoom), but it was a mental break. I still had my phone in hand and checked my emails every so often for any urgent issues, but oooohhhh. It was so very nice to just breathe in some fresh air in the best part of the afternoon.

I thought about the Cutie Pie Company while I walked. My old office was less than a mile from where I was at the time. I remembered Chief Cutie being so full of anxiety over whether people were taking two minutes to pee. If they weren’t at their computer tapping something out then they weren’t working. And we couldn’t have that!! I also thought about how she would make us push hard after 5pm, often starting surprise assignments very late in the day and how the stress level would rise at the end of the day.

Nope. Not these days. Not anymore. Sure, there are some stressful situations at Cool Cat, but I do like being able to take a walk or take my laptop outside to work on the balcony. And the laundry is constantly finished!

What’s going on this weekend? I only have two things on my calendar so far: (1) Saturday volunteer clean-up on the city trail around the lake, and (2) Pickleball on Sunday. The rest of the weekend is up in the air. Oh yeah…I did see an IG Reel while scrolling socials that said that all of the hot single men are at the grocery store on Sunday mornings! Maybe a little shopping?

Whatchu doin?
GS


Complicated Disaster April 05, 2024

The danger with working from home, of course, is never stopping!
Also, everyone also says that supermarkets are great places to meet people but I've never met a single person that way!
xx

Athena April 05, 2024

Firemen are always at the grocery store on Sunday morning!

Ginger Snap Athena ⋅ April 05, 2024

Oooh!!

ninakir88 April 06, 2024

Your old boss was terrible … people like that shouldn’t run companies

Satine April 07, 2024

Great stuff!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.