Questions 27 and 28 in 100 questions about me

  • April 4, 2024, 7:37 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

  1. Write about when you think it’s morally acceptable to lie. If your answer is “never,” write about why you think that.

I think it acceptable to lie only if it’s for a morally redeeming reason AND you are fully aware and fully willing to accept the consequences openly to all involved. For example, lying to your children that santa clause is real is acceptable IF you are doing it to perpetuate the magic of christmas AND you are fully aware of and willing to compasionatly soothe the potential pain and confusion your child might experience when they learn the truth. If you are not fully aware or you are not willing to assist the child through that, you have no business lying to the child. You’d be creating a maze that someone else has to navigate and refusing to give any clues or advice. It’s cruel.

  1. Write about a trait you inherited or picked up from a parent

The only thing that I can think of is my LOVE for old music. Perhaps I can’t think of anything else because of my lack of memories but this one also makes me smile. Growing up I never understood why my father listened to music no one else did ( at least In my mind no one else did). He listened to everyone from patty benatar or weird al yankovik to harry belefonte, frank Sinatra or the Dixie chicks. He LOVED the Rankin family and the Irish rovers especially. He would sit for hours and just listen to his music. Everytime I got in the car the radio would be tuned to the local oldies station. As I got older I found songs I liked, sometimes better than the music of the day. As I grew into adult hood I learned to appreciate the older music and I am glad he infused this love and appreciation into who I am. I love modern music but I also love “pop goes the world” by men without hats. My kids and I used to have dance parties to harry beldfonte’s “Jump Up Calypso” record. They especially loved his song titled ” Monkey” all about a monkey that just won’t leave. My dad was not a great father, but I love the good influences he had on my life. This may sound strange but I will forever be grateful for the stroke that did not take anything from his physical ability, but changed him from a deadbeat dad into the greatest grandfather my kids could have, all while leaving his love for all music untouched.


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.