April 2 - Authenticity in These Foolish Things

  • April 2, 2024, 6:32 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Hey, good morning! I have read my book for the day and today’s lesson was in authenticity.

It’s funny - I feel like I’m pretty authentic on the daily - just being my dorky self. But maybe I do tend to spill too many beans when I interact with others. I should probably keep more personal issues to my journal, huh? Ha.

I remember there was a time when I’d had my first heart-and-soul-crushing breakup and I couldn’t stop blabbing about it. I mean, I could NOT shut. Up. I know it was the only way I could process it, but MAN. I’m sure I was annoying as hell. Not only did I write about it constantly here (okay, in Opendiary, but it feels the same to me), but I’d tell anyone and everyone within earshot.

Was that being authentic? I suppose it was authentic in the way that it was the only thing I could think about at the time, so it was the only me I knew how to be.

But does authenticity also mean to be aware of your surroundings and to read the room and to know when to stop, wait, and listen before proceeding?

I suppose it’s being more like, yeah, I got through all of that and I learned my lesson and I know how to handle situations like that better. I’m much more self-aware and…more closed off now? Or maybe it’s more that I understand how and when to be vulnerable?

Is that authenticity? I don’t know! I’m a little confused about it now.

Anyway, that’s what’s on my mind this morning. It’s time to do my workout now and maybe ponder on this some more.

xo,
GS


Complicated Disaster April 02, 2024

It's an interesting subject. I find I have to dial myself right down in the work environment!! xx

Ginger Snap Complicated Disaster ⋅ April 02, 2024

Right?! I also think that not drinking anymore is helping me not blurt out as much!

Complicated Disaster Ginger Snap ⋅ April 02, 2024

I tend to ramble on whether I've been drinking or not! lol xx

Palmtreesandzebras April 02, 2024

I am a talker. I love to talk anyones ear off. How my husband has dealt with me for as long as he has, I have no idea. With that said, I do try to not over-talk with new people and try my best to ask questions. But you will get my authentic self. Like I had had a few drinks on Easter and spent a lot of time talking to my BILs gf. But I did make sure to ask her questions so she would feel included within the “berry” girls. I think some people can miss that part but are still authentic.

Ginger Snap Palmtreesandzebras ⋅ April 02, 2024

I agree! I feel like I had to learn this maybe a little later in life than I should have. But yes! If you are a talker, then that's authentically YOU, baby!!

Athena April 02, 2024

In the early 2000s when people first started talking about being "authentic" and "authenticity," I was so damn confused and I would google it constantly, trying to come up with a definition I could understand. Seems like people said the word a lot but no one could explain it. I remember asking my therapist what it meant. We landed on the definition of authenticity as when a person finally has the guts to drop the posturing and the preening and the old razzle-dazzle and just live and let live.

Ginger Snap Athena ⋅ April 02, 2024

Now THIS makes sense!! You just said it better than any old personal development book I've read so far - THANK YOU

Firebabe April 02, 2024

I think authenticity comes from being honest in how and what you're feeling (especially when dealing with emotionally painful scenarios), and communicating that without a lot of masking or filtering. Which isn't to say that you toss things like tact and discretion out the door just in the name of being "authentic." Some people seem to think that "being authentic" is the same as "keeping it real," and those people annoy me. LOL.

Ginger Snap Firebabe ⋅ April 02, 2024

Another really great thought! Yes, I'm starting to get this. Great comparison!

colder April 03, 2024

I've struggled often with authenticity in my own life. Not only what and how to be in any given situation, how guarded or open etc., but even understanding who I actually authentically am. Which is a hard thing to understand sometimes, and is changing all the time.

pandora April 05, 2024

Interesting thing to ponder - I also share everything, but I think it's authentic? Like, re: my depression last fall, I didn't really talk about it DURING, but now that I'm okay, I'm WIDE OPEN about it. And I've had some people really relate, which has seemed helpful on both sides? I dunno.

Ginger Snap pandora ⋅ April 05, 2024

I feel this! Yes!

I think I talked so much about cancer treatment that others felt comfortable enough to come to me with questions. I feel honored to be able to help others in that way. So I think that's VERY authentic!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.